Ratings based on 1,369 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville

Great location

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Close to the historic district. Friendly staff, clean room, included breakfast had good variety of food. Overall, very comfortable and pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Cons: The only thing I would have changed is to add a regular chair for seating in the room. The space is there, but the only chair was the desk one.
Great location. You can step out the front door - cross the street, and there is the free shuttle to just about everywhere in historical Charleston. There were plenty of restaurants in walking distance, and even a music hall next door (from which we never heard a sound - and our window faced it) The staff was friendly and willing to answer all my questions. Our toilet was continually running when we got into the room, and the staff had it fixed within 15 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage

Great location

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: Great location next to visitor center and museums. Excellent staff. Very clean. Great breakfast.
Location: Great location next to visitor center and museums. Excellent staff. Very clean. Great breakfast.
Great location next to visitor center and museums. Excellent staff. Very clean. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Great Staff and nice hotel in historic district

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Nice hotel, location and great staff
Cons: N/a
Location: Didn't get the chance to see much due to storm. Did find shopping, restaurants nearby. City tours and buses right across the street.
Location in historic district is very good. Unfortunately, due to unexpected snow storm, we didn't get to do much sightseeing. The staff was great though - they checked in constantly on those of us stranded there,made surrounded were met, sought information continually for services that were open during the storm, and kept us updated on the storm. When cable went out,mother showed up with board games 😄 I was very impressed with their staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great location with parking available

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothingr
Location: Restaurants within walking distance,also shops,museum,and even a drugstore.The free bus stop was across the street which ran every 20 minutes.
Had 4 rooms for the family. Everyone liked the rooms,breakfast,etc. No complaints,just favorable comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Dec 18, 2017
we had a pleasant stay the staff are wonderful and the coffee and cookies are such a treat on cold days and nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Perfect location in Historic Charleston.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
We were in Charleston for a wedding. Hampton was within walking distance of many great restaurants, shopping district and the wedding venue. The room was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Lobby/breakfast area offered plenty of comfortable seating and many options for breakfast, included in the meal. Parking was very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Over priced

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The Hotel was ok. We had an issue with our room the first night and the staff were very quick to respond and have us moved to another room. I have no complaints with the hotel other than it seemed expensive for what you got - but maybe that's just Charleston prices!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great Old Town Location

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The location was convienent to all the Old District. Walking distance to shopping, sightseeing buggy rides.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Location
I stayed at the Hampton Inn in downtown Charleston for a medical convention that was held close by.