Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oak Park, Ill.

close to everything

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: close proximity to tourist attractions
Cons: Heating/air-conditioner could be quieter.
Location: Hotel was near the main shopping, dining district and very close to historical buildings.
Hotel was very convenient to downtown shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. Right across from the hotel was a free downtown shuttle stop. Staff was courteous and helpful. Only complaint was a very loud heating duct.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lyman, SC

Nice hotel but the employees could be nicer

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: It was new and clean
Cons: The personnel and the breakfast. If you are going to charge $15 for breakfast at least make sure that it is good and well staffed.
Location: There are a lot of restaurants and things to do close by but there are also sketchy spots that made me a little nervous to walk to.
The hotel was nice and clean but the employees were not nice, the breakfast that was not cheap was terrible. The buffet did not have waffles or pancakes, they did not have milk for the cereal and the servers were completely rude. I should have known when I checked in and the last thing they said to me was make sure you walk to the side of the hotel after dark because it is not safe to walk on the road in front, and I brought my kids here because it looked like a really nice place online. The hotel itself was very nice, new and clean but that is where it ended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Convenient to Downtown

Posted Dec 17, 2017
I loved this hotel. It is very clean, bright, and attractive. After six days the front desk people felt like family. Hannah, Tara, and Carol are all keepers. The hotel has a nice library room on the 2nd floor with a nice sized tv. If you wake up early and your travel companion is sleeping, it's a nice place to sit. The pool deck is lovely and spacious with outdoor seating areas. It was too chilly to use this week. The bartenders were great and the waitresses in the restaurant were very efficient. The only negative was that although the room and bathroom were nice and clean, the housekeeping staff seemed to slack off and not clean every day. I let the manager know and he resolved the situation in a satisfactory manner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Hotel is clean and close to the bus station

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Overall the hotel is clean. The stay was comfortable. It’s about 10-20 minutes walk to restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Charleston

Posted Nov 28, 2017
This was a great location. The staff was very friendly. The hotel looked and smelled great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and friendly staff

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Great hotel location and very clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating just wish the hotel had been a bit more clear about parking availability vs. valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent choice

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pro-Room is good. Staff is very nice. Location is ok Con-Lobby had a funny odor. Staff said it was from the paper mill but it didn't smell outside. Expensive to park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Easy walking

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: It wasn't that I liked it, it was that I wasn't disappointed. that everything was as should be expected
Cons: Better views, but everyone wants that
Everything was as I expected, Clean and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant smell in lobby.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Do something about the smell in the lobby. We would have eaten in the restaurant except the sewage odor was there too. Very unpleasant.
Location: within walking distance of many good restaurants. Convenient shuttle stop in front of the hotel.
Convenient location. The lobby smelled like sewage so I wouldn't recommend staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Smelled like sewage in the lobby the entire time

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Keys also deactivated and I had to sit around waiting, sewage problem in the lobby bathroom really didn’t help things out. Also requested and got a confirmation on a king bed, ended up with 2 queens. Will re-consider using Expedia going forward.