Ratings based on 1,197 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lexington SC

Decent Hotel for the money

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: The staff were professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. The hot breakfast was good.
Cons: I believe this hotel will be entirely renovated soon and I would consider staying at this hotel again once it has been completely renovated.
Location: This hotel is about 10 minutes from downtown shopping, and eating.
The staff were professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. The hot breakfast was good. They had scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage patties, biscuits, scrambled egg whites, pancakes and really just too much to list here. You get the idea--it was good, hot and filling. They are renovating this hotel. The parking lot, front entrance/lobby, and parking lot are all new and updated. Out room was clean and nice but it needed to be updated/ renovated. The refrigerator was noisy, there were light switches that I did not know what they turned on. There were a bank of about four light switches all spaced out by 3 inches when you came into the room. Also next to the desk/table there was not a receptacle where I could charge my laptop. I had to snake my cord across the room to a receptacle on the adjacent wall. Over all it was a good hotel. I would consider staying here again--after I look at deals for other hotels in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under construction

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Manager and staff friendly and helpful but the hotel is under construction. Try some other time later.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful Staff and Easy Access to VA & Hospitals

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Although the rooms are somewhat cramped and offer only a shower--no bathtub--there is great flexibility with planning, very considerate staff and a pleasing setting. Perhaps during the immense and complex [filthy, too!] construction for a full city block next door the Holi Inn here should discount rooms - Noise, construction TRAFFIC, and tight access.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Good hotel if you are traveling on a extremely tight budget. There are better options in Charleston though. Rooms are small but they did have a balcony which was nice. Looks nice from the outside but the rooms are dated and "motel" style. Someone pulled the fire alarm at 3am and people at all hours of the day smoking at the front entrance where there are clear signs that say "no smoking". Lobby smelled like an ash tray. Good complementary breakfast though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1st time in Charleston

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: convenient to public free transporation
Cons: a facelift to the rooms and increase room size
Location: Historical bus tour was great.Also toured Patriots Point and the Yorktown.
The hotel was very convenient. Rooms were small but adequate. Parking not the best because of limited spaces. Breakfast was fabulous and Staff was exceptional!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice Hotel; but needs a "little" updating.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly and professional Staff!
Cons: Parking and updating the common areas. I think the days of dropped ceilings are gone.
Location: Actually, a pretty good location; not far from the Historic District!
Overall, a good experience!!! Staff was friendly and professional; but be prepared for surrounding construction and inadequate parking. Although additional parking was available, parking in a gravel lot is not ideal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HILLSVILLE VA

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Cons: VERY DIFFICULT TO GET IN PARKING LOT
CLOSE TO GOOD RESTAURANTS AND DOWTOWN SHOPPING AND SCENIC ATTRACTIONS
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Underwhelming even for a holiday inn

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Hotel smells down and dirty construction surrounds the area -unless you can get this hotel for under $100 for one night only -don’t bother low and people
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waist your money!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Hotel had a mildew smell. Surrounded by construction. Very limited parking. Veiw from balcony is of constructions. The sheets on the beds were scratchy. Mold in bathroom. Staff was the only thing good. Terrible hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, Fl

Great location

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Loved our stay. Not too far from town, but not too close. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and breakfast was outstanding.