Ratings based on 444 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel in Excellent Location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
This charming old hotel captures the old culture of Charleston. The rooms are large and extremely well appointed. The staff go out of their way to may sure you have everything you need and happy to make recommendations. The location is excellent. Stores, restaurants and bars next door. I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, NY

Great hotel in a great area.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Beautiful, southern hotel with an excellent restaurant/bar downstairs. The staff were attentive and friendly. The rooftop bar was popular despite the chilly weather...they had many gas lamps to heat the outside area. Absolutely loved the maids turn down service each night along with the butter cookies placed by the bedside. Beautiful room and an incredibly comfortable bed. No hair dryer in the room, though and I didn't bring mine. That's my only negative. We will be staying at the Market Pavillion again when we return...and I'll bring my hairdryer next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Concierge

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast and concierge services
Location: Right downtown, close to everything, we walked everywhere.
The concierge was only there in the afternoons. Not much help. The complimentary breakfast was awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Top quality hotel & staff

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Loved our stay at the Market Pavilion everything was top quality & we were made to feel very comfortable in all areas of the hotel by all staff members.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

clean and location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: clean, location
Cons: staff need more smile face
Location: restaurants and history points
this hotel closes to lots of interesting points, just walking distance. and is very cozy and clean. will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Great location. Expensive, but worth the price. Great service from caring staff. Room very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Great hotel in downtown Charleston

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The service was excellent.
Nice room with upscale furniture and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the service was excellent. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte, NC

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Lovely hotel - clearly not a chain! Glad I stayed here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My favorite hotel in Charleston

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Went to Charleston on a whim and once my husband and I arrived we felt like we were getting together with old friends. The staff and property are outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a beautiful hotel in the perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Impressed

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location and quality of the room, not to mention the service.
Location: Lots of places to eat and drink. Also close to water front.
Wife and I stayed here and could not have been more impressed. Rooms were very nice and clean. Enjoyed the 4th floor experience with breakfast, high tea and evening snacks and drinks available. The location was also very good being close to multiple restaurants, bars and the market. We would stay here again. Thank You. Scott & Jodi B