Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crossville, TN

Great Getaway!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was perfect for seeing the historical part of Charleston and for shopping at the Charleston Market.
Everyone was so pleasant and so friendly, it was an absolute pleasure to stay there. I would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to visit Charleston. The service was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel in optimal location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My wife and I stayed at Planters Inn on our honeymoon and had a superb time. The hotel was in immaculate condition, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the location was in the center of everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Location great, hotel just OK

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I was disappointed in the hotel facilities & staff. Maybe I had expected too much given that the attached Peninsula Grill is great. Staff several times gave us wrong info e.g., whether art galleries were open on July 4 (few are), which elevator to take to find my room). There was no afternoon wine as many in the area offer; the cheese straws were gone each afternoon when I looked for them, so it's obvious no one replenishes them; my room's supplies were not replenished one day so I had no shower cap & makeup remover cloth; the sink was very slow draining -- almost completely clogged--yet the housekeepers never unstopped it. They offered no maps for finding art galleries even though we asked where to find them & later one of the galleries offered us one. Staff were cheerful, just not very helpful or knowledgeable. I'm very glad we found a summer (low) rate for this hotel, because it isn't worth its usual high rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of downtown

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff fantastic as was the room.
Cons: not a thing
We really enjoyed our stay and will stay there again. It is close (within walking distance) of almost everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Convenient location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The front desk is always willing to help you and you can always find coffee, etc. in the front living room of the hotel. The guest room was beautiful and housekeeping did a great job of cleaning throughout my stay. The hotel's location is perfect if you're interested in shopping or walking throughout the historic downtown area. Have stayed here multiple times and will certainly be coming back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia Gold doesn't come through for us

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: It is gorgeous and the location could not be better for visiting this city.
Location: WALK! You will find beauty every way you go.
We purposefully chose this hotel because it had VIP status. We arrived at 10:30 pm but they told us to ask in the morning for our VIP bonus. At 9 am the next morning we were told it was champagne. We asked for free parking or a discount on breakfast, since we did not want to drink champagne for breakfast. They declined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Staff attention to service outstanding! Boutique hotel😀 ( no pool or spa services, no gym) therefore 4.8/5 Will encourage my son to honeymoon there!
5 out of 5
by Hans

Southern Comfort

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, traditional charm setting, great staff, very attentive: Cory, Casandra, Megan, Mark etc. The hotel reflects the same charm & spirit of Charleston, and the restaurant's excellent coconut cake! The best ever!!
3 out of 5
by Sally

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is just average. There is no lobby speak of. The bar is just a few bar stools in the restaurant. There is no real concierge. The bellman didn't help with our luggage when we arrived and were rarely around to help with other requests. There was a huge party and the noise from the party was terrible. For the price, I expected more. The pictures on the website were unrepresentative of the actual. Bathrooms were very average and the other couple in our party had a hard time getting hot water in the shower.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

Special service.

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
My husband wanted to go to CharlestonSC. Planters Inn was part of our experience. Staff was over the top. We brought a few stuffed animals. Our maid arranged them differently each day.