Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charleston get away

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Cons: better night turn down service and in-room fridge
excellent hotel in an amazing location - the Peninsula Grill was fantastic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Posted Nov 23, 2017
The hotel was fine. However the clerk refused to recognize my vip status with Expedia Even after Expedia called them the refused to upgrade even though the hotel was far from full. They said it was full but continued to list rooms as available Attitude of staff was less than welcoming
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In no way a Relais et Chateaux caliber hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Everything else. Dated, little to no service. Feels more like a dated Hilton than a luxury hotel.
I have stayed at numerous Relais & Chateaux around the world and this hotel does in no way meet the usual criteria you would expect in terms of level of service (almost non existing), quiet, comfort and attention to detail. Apparently it has been resting on its laurel for way too long. I would strongly urge Relais et Chateaux to revisit this denomination or risk losing credibility in terms of the consistency of their standard of quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We regret your most recent experience did not live up our standards nor you expectations. With 64 rooms and over 16 varieties of room types, we hope you call us directly to find a perfect room for your next visit to Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and friendly

Posted Nov 9, 2017
We really enjoyed our three night stay in early November. This was a couples getaway and we came to like this small Inn with a great location in the heart of the Old downtown historic area. The hotel wasclose to numerous fun, high-quality restaurants and an easy walk to the waterfront parks and walkways. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, Florida

Halfway to our final destination in Naples Florida

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We stopped here for two nights on our way to Naples Florida. We had wanted someplace convenient to the historic neighborhoods and also had some Charlestonian atmosphere and ambiance. We were not disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Perfect location in a very historically important

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Not a chain and perfect location...staff friendly and professional...restaurant in hotel is excellent for breakfast or dinner
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central location....historical sites within walking distance...USS Yorktown in harbor park ...waterfront stunning
Excellent city to visit for early American history....outstanding restaurants serving any cuisine especially Southern authentic style dishes...local people friendly and helpful...waterfront beautiful...look forward to a return visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Older charmer in heart of town.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff
Cons: The famous Peninsula Restaurant has slipped a lot since my previous visit.
Location: Top location at the corner of Meeting and Market. All the charms of Charleston are within walking distance.
This was my second visit. The first was two years earlier. The previous time had been in the newer annex. The main hotel is more convenient and our room was actually a spacious suite. However the furnishings in the main hotel are very out of date and the ac a little on the older side. The staff however was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in middle of town

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Staff were the best and always helpful. Would go back there again and again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Beautiful Hotel in Historic District

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The Planters Inn is absolutely beautiful. The lady who greeted us at check in was very nice and thorough but she did not offer any extra information about the city. Later that evening when we asked about transportation for the next day the young man at the desk was not at all helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and our server was the best!!! She even gave us an extra treat to enjoy for our anniversary. The room was very comfortable, spacious, and beautifully decorated. We would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Excellent staff with old world charm. I love this place