Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Great getaway

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: The location of hotel was close to sites and restaurants.
Staff and food were both excellent. We loved the coconut cake. Do not miss it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Next to market and meeting st. Great location.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Loved walking out of hotel each day to explore Charleston. Car was valet parked entire stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Decent hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Great location, room was spacious & clean. Staff were courteous, except front desk weren’t that accommodating. Decent hotel but not much to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Great hotel in Charleston's "ground zero" of the historic district. My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and had never been to C'ton. This hotel was absolutely perfect-great location, friendly staff, spacious and clean room, very quiet, good price, well decorated (week before Christmas). Couldn't have been better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2017
As a Charleston resident flooded out by a hurricane, I’ve been doing a hotel tour of accommodations in downtown Charleston. The planners in his head and shoulders above all of the rust and I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends. I can’t wait to stay there again - no reason to tour when you’ve found the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Location is excellent for city visit. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charleston get away

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Cons: better night turn down service and in-room fridge
excellent hotel in an amazing location - the Peninsula Grill was fantastic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Posted Nov 23, 2017
The hotel was fine. However the clerk refused to recognize my vip status with Expedia Even after Expedia called them the refused to upgrade even though the hotel was far from full. They said it was full but continued to list rooms as available Attitude of staff was less than welcoming
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In no way a Relais et Chateaux caliber hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Everything else. Dated, little to no service. Feels more like a dated Hilton than a luxury hotel.
I have stayed at numerous Relais & Chateaux around the world and this hotel does in no way meet the usual criteria you would expect in terms of level of service (almost non existing), quiet, comfort and attention to detail. Apparently it has been resting on its laurel for way too long. I would strongly urge Relais et Chateaux to revisit this denomination or risk losing credibility in terms of the consistency of their standard of quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We regret your most recent experience did not live up our standards nor you expectations. With 64 rooms and over 16 varieties of room types, we hope you call us directly to find a perfect room for your next visit to Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and friendly

Posted Nov 9, 2017
We really enjoyed our three night stay in early November. This was a couples getaway and we came to like this small Inn with a great location in the heart of the Old downtown historic area. The hotel wasclose to numerous fun, high-quality restaurants and an easy walk to the waterfront parks and walkways. The staff was friendly and helpful.