Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Delights of old Charleston

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Excellent location. Beautiful period building and furnishings. Superb staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton , Texas

Brilliant room, spacious and charming.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Hotel is perfectly located. Staff is attentive. Housekeeping twice daily.. macaroons on the pillow. Coffee/tea/lemonade in front parlor awesome. Umbrellas.. fresh towels at the door in case of a brief shower . Stay here! Worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crossville, TN

Great Getaway!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was perfect for seeing the historical part of Charleston and for shopping at the Charleston Market.
Everyone was so pleasant and so friendly, it was an absolute pleasure to stay there. I would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to visit Charleston. The service was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel in optimal location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My wife and I stayed at Planters Inn on our honeymoon and had a superb time. The hotel was in immaculate condition, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the location was in the center of everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Location great, hotel just OK

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I was disappointed in the hotel facilities & staff. Maybe I had expected too much given that the attached Peninsula Grill is great. Staff several times gave us wrong info e.g., whether art galleries were open on July 4 (few are), which elevator to take to find my room). There was no afternoon wine as many in the area offer; the cheese straws were gone each afternoon when I looked for them, so it's obvious no one replenishes them; my room's supplies were not replenished one day so I had no shower cap & makeup remover cloth; the sink was very slow draining -- almost completely clogged--yet the housekeepers never unstopped it. They offered no maps for finding art galleries even though we asked where to find them & later one of the galleries offered us one. Staff were cheerful, just not very helpful or knowledgeable. I'm very glad we found a summer (low) rate for this hotel, because it isn't worth its usual high rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of downtown

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff fantastic as was the room.
Cons: not a thing
We really enjoyed our stay and will stay there again. It is close (within walking distance) of almost everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Convenient location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The front desk is always willing to help you and you can always find coffee, etc. in the front living room of the hotel. The guest room was beautiful and housekeeping did a great job of cleaning throughout my stay. The hotel's location is perfect if you're interested in shopping or walking throughout the historic downtown area. Have stayed here multiple times and will certainly be coming back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia Gold doesn't come through for us

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: It is gorgeous and the location could not be better for visiting this city.
Location: WALK! You will find beauty every way you go.
We purposefully chose this hotel because it had VIP status. We arrived at 10:30 pm but they told us to ask in the morning for our VIP bonus. At 9 am the next morning we were told it was champagne. We asked for free parking or a discount on breakfast, since we did not want to drink champagne for breakfast. They declined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Staff attention to service outstanding! Boutique hotel😀 ( no pool or spa services, no gym) therefore 4.8/5 Will encourage my son to honeymoon there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Close to Everything!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Simply put, we liked everything!
Cons: It's hard to comment about improvements, since we found nothing that interfered with a wonderful stay.
Location: Shopping galore, restaurants of every genre and the historic/romantic ambience that is Charleston is right outside the door!
This was our second stay at Planters Inn, the first celebrating our 20th anniversary and this time celebrating our 40th! The Inn did not disappoint in any way. From the moment we arrived and the valet met us at the curb, the staff took great care of us throughout our stay. Our room was spacious, well appointed and offered everything we needed to ensure a wonderful experience. The Inn's location at the historic City Market puts you at the center of everything Charleston...shopping, restaurants and the waterfront. Hopefully, we'll be back before we celebrate our 60th!