Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Update, unique and friendly staff.

Posted May 14, 2018
Nice, updated hotel but still unique and not like a normal “holiday inn”. The staff was great, nice bar and also complimentary bicycles to tour downtown Charleston.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. Your compliments were a pleasure to read, and we were delighted to learn that you were thoroughly spoiled by our associates. We will share your fantastic remarks with our management team and the entire staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcome you back very soon. Brian Wander, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2018
Good location Overpriced Friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review of the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. We are glad to know you could experience one of America's most unique cities and enjoy our Southern hospitality. Please know we conduct regular surveys to make sure we are competitively priced with hotels of the same caliber in our area. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have you back with us again in future! Brian Wander, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2018
Hotel check in was delayed even though we requested early and did early check in on the mobile Marriott app and the AC did not work efficiently.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope you will accept our apologies for problems with you had at the Front Desk. We will certainly introspect what went wrong and will take corrective steps to ensure a smooth check-in going ahead. We hope you will come back for a flawless visit the next time you are in the area. Brian Wander, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location

Posted Apr 29, 2018
Pros: The staff was very helpful.
Cons: Free WiFi.
Loved the location. Staff was professional and very accommodating. Was a little surprised that WiFi was not free unless you asked. Hotel was within walking distance to everything fun. Pool was a perfect place to chill with a glass of wine. Rooms were large and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing a wonderful review of the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. We are delighted to know you were impressed not only with our convenient location and the service as well as the facilities we provide. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Brian Wander, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2018
The wait was too long for our breakfast which was probably due to staff shortage. Overall friendly staff and pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location / trendy hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Best ball man/valet ever Jay Carlson. Room clean - staff professional Great bar/restaurant and food! The Renaissance HAS to stop allowing 4pm checkout for their loyalty members! There was a log jam everyday because folks coming checking in at 4 had to wait (often hours) to get a room because housekeeping was only able to clean rooms at 4 when loyalty members left. Absolutely unnecessary - make that benefit be a 2pm checkout for loyalty members. What sense does it make to have check out and guest check in bevat the same time ??!! Did anyone in a suit making these decisions think about how long it takes housekeeping to turn these room over? I personally met two different loyalty members who had to sit around and wait for a room, too! So the program is assisting one loyalty member with a late check out, while giving terrible service to another trying to check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your kind review of the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the service delivered by Jay. However, your comments indicate an area where we could focus attention to improve our services, and we assure you we will evaluate what we can do differently going forward to avoid such issues. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Brian Wander, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Posted Mar 19, 2018
We celebrated my aunt’s 80th with a pajama party. The room was perfect, along with the vicinity of hotel. Close to restaurants and other venues for young/older adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Very nice hotel, very nice staff. great location

Posted Mar 1, 2018
Pros: Location, room upgrade and friendly helpful staff
Cons: nothing
Location: All of downtown Charleston is at your finger tips.
Great stay. I have been there twice now and will true again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Beautiful boutique hotel with friendly staff

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Even though Renaissance is a chain I felt like I was in a boutique hotel. Beautifully decorated “boutique” hotel with a great location made my stay in Charleston a wonderful experience. The staff was excellent and we enjoyed the breakfast as well. The only thing was I wish the bed was a little more comfortable but other than that I will be returning to this little gem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Very rude staff when I asked for early check-in. Apparently check in is whenever is convenient for them, no earlier than 4pm. For the money I would have expected at least a clean room. I will not be back to this hotel