Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

our room was only cleaned once while there er

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: great facility
Cons: cleaning of rooms
Location: great
we had a great time and the Hotel was perfect ,, need a few more people to assist in room cleaning and luggage,,,,,,,,,,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No pets, no refund

Posted Oct 6, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel seversl times and always enjoyed it. It was dog-friendly! I booked a reservation through Expedia, but then learned the hotel is now iwned by Marriott, and does not allow dogs. I cancelled immediately - 4 days before our check-in date. I have not received a refund of my reservation payment! Formerly, this hotel was excellent! Too bad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great hotel in Charleston's Historic District

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Cons: See above
Location: See above
I enjoyed my stay at the Charleston Renaissance. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Each and every staff member was polite, helpful and very nice. The food in the hotel's restaurant was very good. The hotel's fitness center was small but clean and well maintained. Their pool was very small and is more like a wading pool---not for laps. The hotel is within walking distance to the waterfront, the famous open market, historic district, great restaurants and shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: location. friendly staff
Location: Great restaurants and shopping
The hotel has a great location in the center of the historic district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, IA

Great Location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great location in the heart of the waterfront...fantastic staff that was a great help after a frazzled day of flight delays...if you like old renovated buildings you will love this place...absolutely amazing!
4 out of 5
by Madeline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

I love this hotel! The renovation is spectacular!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location Design and Comfort
Cons: Better bellman service and to have hypoallergenic pillows if the reservation specifies.
Location: Love the location! We parked the car and never used it until we drove back to Atalanta. Easy to walk to CofC, Upper King, and touristy areas.
My husband and I arrived on a Thursday evening after driving 6 hours from Atlanta. We were greeted with a smile. I absolutely love the style of this hotel. Apparently they just renovated. It is modern with a quirky twist! Interesting art, colors and decor everywhere. The Bunny wallpaper was my favorite! The hotel has a pool, and parking in a deck across the street. One can choose to self park or valet. It's $20 per day to self park. The restaurant is very nice with good food. My only disappointment was our arrival. Although we were greeted with a smile, we were not offered any help with our bags. We were told to help ourselves to the luggage cart. When we arrive to our room carrying our own luggage I found feather pillows on the bed after I has specifically requested hypoallergenic pillows in my reservation....So we had to wait around for pillows to be delivered so my husbands eyes would not be swollen shut in the morning. The luggage and pillows are nit picky things to complain about......we had a wonderful stay and the Hotel is truly nice! Great design and great location!! I will stay there again for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Great location, barbaric WIFI, not a good value

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Bunny Wallpaper. Staff
Cons: WIFI policy. Breakfast. Beds. Sound protection.
Location: King street is right next door for shopping. There are tons of great restaurants in the area. It's easy to get to the Historic Market and Ft. Sumter
PROS - The hotel itself is really nice. I liked the room (bunny wallpaper!), the staff was very friendly and the rooftop pool was fun (but small). Also, the internet TV feature was nice. The best feature was the location. It's in the middle of downtown and easy walks to restaurants, shopping streets and historic tours (like Fort Sumter). CONS - The bed wasn't comfortable, there was no breakfast, the rooms offered little sound protection, and the WIFI wasn't free. For the prices you pay here per night, I'd honestly recommend a Holiday Inn Express over this hotel (at least until they upgrade their WIFI policy).
1 out of 5
by Stephen

Nearly ruined our family vacation

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
We came to check in and were informed the hotel over booked that night and our room had been given away. This wouldn't normally be such a huge issue, but we had a week's worth of luggage, two very heavy car seats and two tired children (who had been so good on the plane we received compliments from those around us). The front desk told us the hotel was completely full and we would need to call another cab or walk (dragging all our gear and sleeping children) 5 blocks to another hotel. I begged the front desk clerk to let us sleep anywhere. Even a broom closet just so my kids could get to sleep. They informed us there were absolutely no rooms available in the entire hotel. I was frustrated but had no choice so the clerk began filling out the voucher form. While they filled out a form, another traveler showed up and was given a room. At this point, I got a bit upset. How was it there are 'No rooms available, not even a broom closet' but this person is greeted with a smile and a room key. The gentleman who was checking in saw our group and told the clerk to give us his room. He could make the trip to the other hotel as a single traveler with less hassle than a family totting two young children and a weeks worth of baggage. The front desk did NOTHING to fix the issue. I am grateful this good Samaritan stepped in to help us. The rooms are nice, bell man was awesome and hotel is well maintained. Just be warned, they are not trustworthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel in the heart of historical district

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location and vibe. Bikes available to make up your own tour around the city
Cons: Pool and pool area could have been a little more spacious but given the area to work with it was just enough
Location: Location in the heart of Historical District. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. No need for a car
Great hotel in the heart of historical district. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Hotel was clean, decor was hip with a neo-traditional vibe. Workout facility was totally adequate. Pool was just right. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Charming city, pure Southern Charm!!