Ratings based on 2,226 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from potomac, md

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Lovely stay. Good beds, spacious rooms except for the bathrooms. Good towels and good walls. Did not hear people in other rooms. Lovely lobbies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago,il

Decent location but small rooms

Posted Dec 27, 2017
The hotel was fairly conveniently located. The rooms were very small and the bathroom was tiny. Looks like it can use a good updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hollywood, Fl

Nice stay but......

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Very nice location, walking distance to the Historic District. Some disappointment with parking and extra charges in the bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotels ALWAYS have small rooms.

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: Appearance and staff
Excellent hotel and staff. Of course the rooms could be bigger. And the bathrooms are cruise ship sized. But it’s a historic hotel. Most hotels with this much history have bathrooms at the end of the hall! Lobby is beautiful and the doormen are ever vigilant for approaching guests. We had a great time at Christmas. Lots to do within walking distance or a short Uber ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel with old world charm.

Posted Dec 26, 2017
We were greeted by pleasant staff, check in was a breeze, we were told that the room was available yet, but offered to stow away our luggage. Location is perfect, it is close to nice restaurants , in front of the hotel is a nice square, being that it is Christmas , the trees are lit, and a big Christmas tree in the middle of the square makes for a festive vibe. Will definitely stay here again when i visit Charleston !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, Ga

Good location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Convenient location for shopping and dining on King St. Very small bathroom. The walls between rooms are thin and single pane glass in the windows make for a sleepless night due to all the noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Very pleasant hotel - excellent location, comfortable rooms, attentive staff, reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Stately Charm with a Convenient Location

Posted Dec 11, 2017
My wife chose the Francis Marion as where we would say on our trip to Charleston. Once we arrived, we knew we had made the right decision. The lobby harkens to the days of grand hotels, but with updates that make it practical for modern travelers. Our king room was spacious by today's standards making it easy to store our clothing and luggage, e.g., there was a walk in closet adjacent to the entry door--nice. The bathroom was covered in marble with updated fixtures which lent an air of solidity to the space. Overall, it was a very relaxing environment. The location of the hotel is within easy walking distance of the main shopping situated on King Street and environs. This made long walks through the length and breadth of the peninsula very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Beautiful historic place well kept. Great shopping and restaurants very close. All good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location !

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Hotel was really accommodating to the few extra things we needed! Valet service was nice & quick! Would stay there again