Ratings based on 3,060 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaufort, NC

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We loved our four days at the Francis Marion. We found the hotel to be perfectly located, valet parking a joy, room was quaint and very comfortable and the staff very accommodating! We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy to stay in a historic hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Because it is a historic hotel, the bathroom is small and cramped.
Perfect location to view the eclipse from Marion Park across the street. Very easy to walk or take shuttle to other sites of interest to tourists. Easy access to good restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Nice classic hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, caring staff, Very good restraunt.
Cons: Keep up the good work.
Location: Very central location and the central Tourism center was within walkingdistance.
Our stay here was great, The hotel location was right downtown . The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. The last day of our stay, the hotel surprised us with a small snack with champaign left in our room as compensation for a plumbing problem. We were actually on a tour at the time and it had no effect on our day, The thought was nice though. We have already recommeded this hotel to some friends planning a trip to Charleston. A very enjoyable stay. Thanks JimFunk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Position in Charleston

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Lovely Hotel, great position, nice people, and enjoyed our stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Great location in Charleston

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: Housekeeping staff was inconsistent. Forgot to leave fresh towels & washcloths. They did not always replenish used amenities such as coffee & water.
We were able to walk to most attractions in the city. Lots of good cafes and restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel in a fabulous downtown location!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Great location. Friendly staff!
Cons: Including at least a small breakfast.
Location: Everything you could want access to in Charleston. Great restaurants. The Market. The Old Slave Mart Museum. Husk Restaurant.
I love historic hotels and this was a lovely one. Everything was great! Nice staff. Lovely lobby. GREAT location. I walked all over downtown. I do find it frustrating that so many hotels are moving away from providing breakfast. With higher rates and rooms that are nice but not luxurious as this, it would be a nice add back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: All staff were very friendly Room was clean and very comfortable Beds were really firm and very comfortable
Air conditioning is adjustable and room was very comfortably cool. Last hotel in Charleston the air conditioning wasn't adjustable and the room was very hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Old, poorly managed, indifferent staff

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The service.
Location: Good location.
Arrived at the hotel and when we went up to our rooms to shower and use the bathroom after our flight we found there was no water. We alerted the front desk only to be told that entire hotel had been without water for several hours, which is fine but you'd think that we would've been told this upon check in. That level of indifference by the staff marked our entire stay. Once in the middle of the night (around 10:30pm) a maid entered our room. Never did the staff seem particularly polite or ready to serve. The place feels old and tired. Nothing wrong with old but it desperately could use a renovation and new management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Except for the fact hotel had no record that we had a reservation when we arrived thru Expedia, our week at the Francis was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay in the Holy City

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This is not our first stay at the Francis Marion. It is in a great location with excellent service and lovely rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.