Ratings based on 3,003 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from princeton nj

Pretty hotel, best location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great location, walking distance to everything with shuttle stop in the corner. Room was huge and very pretty. The bathroom was tiny tho. Very friendly staff, check in was quick and the lobby is gorgeous. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Never disappoints!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great location between old and new Charleston. Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.
We always stay at the Francis Marion when we visit Charleston. The location, accommodations and service never disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Charleston.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Wonderful staff, especially valet and room porters, nice young men.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great location. Very nice staff but very run down and borderline dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel with complimentary umbrellas to use!

Posted May 30, 2017
We stayed there for 2 nights. We happened to stay when Charleston got a ton of rain. Luckily, the staff was friendly and helpful and had umbrellas for us to use so we still got out to explore!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

My home in Charleston

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Can' think of one
Location: Park, shopping, historic neighborhoods
Have stayed many times-all wonderful. Left my laptop, TIM Williams quickly found it and sent it next day to me! Great service, nice people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect access to historical Charleston

Posted May 24, 2017
Everything about the hotel is great. I would stay here again without hesitation. Advice: 1) parking is not connected to the hotel so unload first & 2) the bus lines has 3 buses that are called "Dash" and they are free. One of the stops is right across the street on King & Calhoun. Jump on the bus, get a route flyer, get off the bus & use the flyer to plan your day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have been better

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above.
We had two rooms. Neither received maid service during the stay. One of the rooms had problems with the key not working and finally after 3 trips to the desk they sent a maintenance person, who was able to resolve it. The walls are paper thin and we felt like we were part of a party in the next room. Hallway noise also. Older windows also made it very noisy from the nightlife outside - even though we were on the 8th floor. Bathroom was very cramped with no place to put toilet kits or toothbrushes and small items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of Marion Square.

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The feel.
Cons: Thicker doors.
Our 3 year old said it was the best castle he had every been in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are nice but very dusty! The lamps and bedposts need a to be cleaned. Bathrooms are very small. Good price and location. Staff is very friendly.