Ratings based on 3,003 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay in the Holy City

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This is not our first stay at the Francis Marion. It is in a great location with excellent service and lovely rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel had no water to take a shower or use the toilets the first morning we woke up. We understand things happen, but not an apology or breakfast is on the hotel or anything. Mind you Charleston in the summer is HOT! We wanted to take a shower! The water was back on later in the day. The room was very spacious but the bathroom was tiny. Check in went quickly and smoothly. The staff was professional and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed, Staff was great, reasonable prices on dining, charming place to stay
Cons: Might want to change those curtains and get some CLR for the rusty tub.
Location: It's in the middle of EVERYTHING. You can walk to the water, restaurants, bars (a LOT of bars).
I stayed two nights for a conference. Everybody was super nice, restaurant was reasonably priced, but there are tons of options in walking distance for dining, too. The bed was comfy. Strangely, the sheer curtains were kind of shredded (my coworker said his were in his room, too). There was quite a bit of rust in the bathtub, but the rest was all good and clean. I'd definitely stay there again. The staff was really great and helpful with recommendations on what to see and do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

Francis Marion

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Had. Nice room but a bit small. Beautiful view of the park, however, very Loud from street traffic till about 2 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
we enjoyed the time spent at the hotel. Very clean and well maintained. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texad

Excellent time in Charleston

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Our stay was great, most everything was within walking distance. Staff was great, house cleaning staff was excellent. Enjoyed the stay definitely a "5"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. The check-in was pleasant, the room was nice, a good size and comfortable. I liked the fitness centre and it was an easy walk to the conference I was attending and all the places you could want to go to in the French Quarter. The security checks to see if you have a room key before letting you in later at night, which I appreciated. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Everything is great here. A wonderful experience and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We had a nice stay and the location is convenient to downtown. We only wished the room had a refrigerator and microwave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Clean, waling distance to entertainment, restaurants and shopping
I enjoyed my stay as I came with family to get a way for a few days. I am returning to same hotel in October for a medical conference and I look forward to my stay.