Ratings based on 3,077 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Allis Wisconsin

Posted Nov 15, 2017
We were able to check in as soon as we arrived. The hotel lobby was a exactly as it was in the on line flyer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location, tired facilities

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The hotel is in a great location, easy to access both upper and lower King Street, not too far to walk to the Aquarium and the ferry to Fort Sumter, and also the visitors center to catch a tour bus around the city. It is however very tired and the staff was hit or miss.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location was great
Upon arriving early for check in our guest relations clerk stated our room was still being cleaned and would be ready in less than an hour so we had our bags stored on site and went out to see Charleston coming back five hours later our room was still not ready. We had a suite and understood we were staying in a historic building but the amenities could have been a bit nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beatiful Histric Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We chose this hotel for its hitoric venue and wete not disappointed.Right in the heart of Charlestons hitoric district we loved it. Definitely would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
No King Bed room when we arrived. Told by staff that nothing else available. Called Expedia to cancel reservation who called the hotel. Queen bed room available plus a discounted price and comped breakfast! That was very nice but why did Expedia have to get involved for the room to magically appear?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all events

Posted Oct 3, 2017
We stayed Thursday night and Sunday night. Our experience was great. Very helpful bell hops and valets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Englewood, Ohio

Nice Hotel/Great Location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Walking distance to shopping & restaurants. Room was comfortable and perfect for a sisters vacation. Hotel staff was very accommodating and calm with potential impending Hurricane Irma.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston, SC

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice hotel in the historic district. Bathrooms are small and not well lit though. Staff was very nice and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lft la

Very impressive historic hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Very impressive historic hotel conveniently located in the downtown and waterfront district of the lovely city of historical Charleston. Staff was kind and helpful and the restaurant, the "Swamp Fox" was so nice for breakfast and dinner. Although sincere efforts are in place to preserve the original architectural designs, it could use some careful updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Bathrooms are too small. Bottom floor had musty smell.
Very good location. Nice lobby. Safe and quite. Bathroom is very, very small. Room is very small. Hotel is dated but nice.