Ratings based on 2,219 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. Great location.

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: Beautiful lobby. Great location. Front desk staff was very friendly. Starbucks in lobby!
Cons: Housekeeping didn't replace our bathroom items daily. Had to call for more shampoo. And had to call for more waters.
For the money, hotel seemed overpriced. Bathrooms were tiny. AC was loud. Almost every time I was in the hallway, there was room service dishes, etc. I expected more from a luxury hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great location and southern hospitality

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Lovely public areas and great service are what stands out at the Francis Marion Hotel. My room was nicely appointed with lavishly thick and comfortable beds. Unfortunately, our bathroom was very small and cramped and a strange odor permeated the room. We sometimes had quite a lot of noise from the street but the location was so convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Hotel was in walking distance to all of the attractions in downtown Charleston. I was like taking a trip back in time when you look around at the buildings were built
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charl

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Conveniently located. Lovely hotel. Nice and professional staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Room was very small and outdated. Went to take a shower just after check in and there was hair around the end of the shower tub. It was like I walked into a motel... not a high end hotel. Called to have them come clean it while I left and when I got back after dinner... the hair was still there. I called again and an hour later the housekeeper came back and asked me to point out what she missed before and was completely dismissive about the situation. Checked out and went to a different hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Nice Hotel in Downtown

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Nice older hotel. Was there for a conference and the food and service was excellent. The rooms are older and need a little updating. Very noisy (can hear conversations on the street from the 9th floor) and phones ringing in the next room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing location

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Very good location, very friendly staff. King street is so accessible from here! We came during a big unanticipated snowstorm when the city shut down, so our experience was somewhat diminished by that. But the hotel was up and running well, with good amenities and a free upgrade to a much larger room. Staff were very responsive to our questions and other requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Grand Old Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Location
Location: For historic downtown location, it is ideal. So close to shopping, restaurants...within walking distance.
Great location with very helpful, friendly staff....only negative is size of bathroom....way to small...old hotel problem!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pendleton, SC

Great Location - Center of everything Charleston

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Everything, but the location was great and the staff was so friendly and helpful..
Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff and great beds. The room was spotless and big. Love the decor and bedding. Will stay there again, since I'm in Charleston several times a year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel staff. Friendly & knowledgeable.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Top notch staff!
Location: Superb!
Wonderful! Perfect for our needs. Location, location, location!