Ratings based on 2,230 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing location

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Very good location, very friendly staff. King street is so accessible from here! We came during a big unanticipated snowstorm when the city shut down, so our experience was somewhat diminished by that. But the hotel was up and running well, with good amenities and a free upgrade to a much larger room. Staff were very responsive to our questions and other requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Grand Old Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Location
Location: For historic downtown location, it is ideal. So close to shopping, restaurants...within walking distance.
Great location with very helpful, friendly staff....only negative is size of bathroom....way to small...old hotel problem!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pendleton, SC

Great Location - Center of everything Charleston

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Everything, but the location was great and the staff was so friendly and helpful..
Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff and great beds. The room was spotless and big. Love the decor and bedding. Will stay there again, since I'm in Charleston several times a year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel staff. Friendly & knowledgeable.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Top notch staff!
Location: Superb!
Wonderful! Perfect for our needs. Location, location, location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murrells inlet, sc

Last minute stay

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Booked thru Expedia at the last minute when we decided not to drive back to Murrels Inlet as it was getting late. Everything went well till I saw the receipt in the morning showing 40.00 less than I paid expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful from doormen, to front desk (Shanae) to room cleaning staff. Professional and friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Jack hammers going till 9:00, painting guest area and over priced. No fan in bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate SC

Charleston downtown historic hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: history, staff, room and view
Cons: noisy heater, some updates
Location: downtown - easy access to everythin: dinning, shopping, history
Beautiful hotel, great room with stunning view, and excellent staff. If not for a noisy in-room heating/airconditioning unit our stay would be perfect. Will come back for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta

Dropping Daughter off at College

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Returned my daughter to College of Charleston after winter break and stayed one night at The Francis Marion Hotel. Great rate, great location and very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta

Bad weather great hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We went to Charleston and was greeted by a freak snowstorm! The hotel staff went above and beyond on taking care of their guests when the entire town was shutdown due to the snow. We will go back to Charleston and will definitely stay at the Francis Marion.