Ratings based on 3,008 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Position in Charleston

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Lovely Hotel, great position, nice people, and enjoyed our stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Great location in Charleston

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: Housekeeping staff was inconsistent. Forgot to leave fresh towels & washcloths. They did not always replenish used amenities such as coffee & water.
We were able to walk to most attractions in the city. Lots of good cafes and restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: All staff were very friendly Room was clean and very comfortable Beds were really firm and very comfortable
Air conditioning is adjustable and room was very comfortably cool. Last hotel in Charleston the air conditioning wasn't adjustable and the room was very hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Old, poorly managed, indifferent staff

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The service.
Location: Good location.
Arrived at the hotel and when we went up to our rooms to shower and use the bathroom after our flight we found there was no water. We alerted the front desk only to be told that entire hotel had been without water for several hours, which is fine but you'd think that we would've been told this upon check in. That level of indifference by the staff marked our entire stay. Once in the middle of the night (around 10:30pm) a maid entered our room. Never did the staff seem particularly polite or ready to serve. The place feels old and tired. Nothing wrong with old but it desperately could use a renovation and new management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Except for the fact hotel had no record that we had a reservation when we arrived thru Expedia, our week at the Francis was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay in the Holy City

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This is not our first stay at the Francis Marion. It is in a great location with excellent service and lovely rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel had no water to take a shower or use the toilets the first morning we woke up. We understand things happen, but not an apology or breakfast is on the hotel or anything. Mind you Charleston in the summer is HOT! We wanted to take a shower! The water was back on later in the day. The room was very spacious but the bathroom was tiny. Check in went quickly and smoothly. The staff was professional and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed, Staff was great, reasonable prices on dining, charming place to stay
Cons: Might want to change those curtains and get some CLR for the rusty tub.
Location: It's in the middle of EVERYTHING. You can walk to the water, restaurants, bars (a LOT of bars).
I stayed two nights for a conference. Everybody was super nice, restaurant was reasonably priced, but there are tons of options in walking distance for dining, too. The bed was comfy. Strangely, the sheer curtains were kind of shredded (my coworker said his were in his room, too). There was quite a bit of rust in the bathtub, but the rest was all good and clean. I'd definitely stay there again. The staff was really great and helpful with recommendations on what to see and do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

Francis Marion

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Had. Nice room but a bit small. Beautiful view of the park, however, very Loud from street traffic till about 2 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
we enjoyed the time spent at the hotel. Very clean and well maintained. Great location