Ratings based on 1,306 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Lovely hotel and staff

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Could not have loved this place more. Perfect location and really great amenities. Staff was professional and really friendly!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Good location Nice pool
Cons: Restaurant too quiet
Had a good time . Hotel was very nice, staff was helpful and pleasant . Location was good for us but the nights were very quiet ! Could be good or bad depending on what your looking for and who you are traveling with
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Girls Trip = Room too Small

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The staff is very accommodating and friendly from the bellmen, to the front desk and The Barbados Room (hotel restaurant) & the location is awesome.
Cons: Showcase dimensions of room; check glasses before serving to guests to ensure no lipstick (happened 2x); allow free refills of coffee after 10AM
Location: King Street, Meeting Street, East Bay, walk down to pier. Shopping, eating, drinking, etc are 1.5 miles or less. Use Uber not cabs. PROTECT THE HORSES
Three, 30-something women stayed in a double bed suite for a girls trip; the room was very small and difficult to navigate when we were all awake and getting ready. The bathroom is tiny as well. When we arrived, the bathroom, which is a farm door, was off it's hinge so we called down to have them fix. When we returned to the room, it was fixed but the door does not close (it remains about an inch open) so does not lock either. Called front desk and confirmed the bathroom doors DO NOT CLOSE so if you like your privacy, look elsewhere. The pool area sits maybe 20 ppl comfortably; there is no service out at the pool. The gym can fit maybe ten people (you can find cold water in the gym so go there to fill up your water bottles). The location of the Mills is the best part! Walking distance to everything from King to East Bay, etc. The area is safe and quiet.
3 out of 5
by Torey

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
The first room smelled like vomit and the flow was wet. We went to dinner and came back unable to access our room due to use of a ozone machine. The second room was clean. Staff was great. Hvac system smelled musty and moldy.
5 out of 5
by Terje

Beautiful hotel in Charleston

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was really good. Located at main area in Charleston. The swimming pool and area was excelent. It has a beautiful garden with a lovely fountain.
4 out of 5
by Melissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by david

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

Small issues but very inconvenient stay

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Room was decent
Cons: The hotel seems to lack forethought about small details that impact their guests.
Location: Good location to all of the historic area and shopping
First, after driving 9 hours we arrived at the hotel and were told valet service was unavailable because the lot was full. Magically, after complaining to the hotel desk during check-in they found a spot(?) Then, the next day, after walking all over the historic district in 90+ degree weather we went up to our room and neither card key would work. We had to go back down to the front desk to get new keys where the clerk said cell phones can wipe the cards. However, our keys were never near our phones all day. The next day we came back from a day at Isle of Palms and a huge storm rolled through town. Since we couldn't go anywhere we decided to watch TV only to discover this hotel had DirectTV service and the satellite was blocked by clouds and rain for nearly 2 hours. Later, we needed change for a $20 and the front desk could only offer 20 one dollar bills. The next day, we again came back from the beach to find that the City of Charleston was doing road work right in front of the hotel and the valet. We had to circle the hotel for several minutes until the small spot to valet was vacant. The hotel should have had some contingency for this given the already congested area downtown. These are small issues but give the cost of the hotel management needs to consider the overall experience. Perhaps we just had bad luck here. In general, the hotel is conveniently located and the room was decent. We enjoyed the bar and the pool.