Ratings based on 1,252 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: I lost an item and they really helped and cared. Thanks.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. The front desk, the wait staff and the management were top drawer. I lost my iphone and they quickly reacted to my situation with helping in every way. I subsequently found the phone. Great staff who enjoys what they do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from memphis, tn

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
I read a lot of mixed reviews about the Mills House hotel but my husband and I absolutely loved it! It was within walking distance of pretty much everything we wanted to do. The rooms were slightly small but it is a historic hotel. They were comfortable and very clean. The hotel staff was great! Overall, we loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Lovely hotel and staff

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Could not have loved this place more. Perfect location and really great amenities. Staff was professional and really friendly!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Good location Nice pool
Cons: Restaurant too quiet
Had a good time . Hotel was very nice, staff was helpful and pleasant . Location was good for us but the nights were very quiet ! Could be good or bad depending on what your looking for and who you are traveling with
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Girls Trip = Room too Small

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The staff is very accommodating and friendly from the bellmen, to the front desk and The Barbados Room (hotel restaurant) & the location is awesome.
Cons: Showcase dimensions of room; check glasses before serving to guests to ensure no lipstick (happened 2x); allow free refills of coffee after 10AM
Location: King Street, Meeting Street, East Bay, walk down to pier. Shopping, eating, drinking, etc are 1.5 miles or less. Use Uber not cabs. PROTECT THE HORSES
Three, 30-something women stayed in a double bed suite for a girls trip; the room was very small and difficult to navigate when we were all awake and getting ready. The bathroom is tiny as well. When we arrived, the bathroom, which is a farm door, was off it's hinge so we called down to have them fix. When we returned to the room, it was fixed but the door does not close (it remains about an inch open) so does not lock either. Called front desk and confirmed the bathroom doors DO NOT CLOSE so if you like your privacy, look elsewhere. The pool area sits maybe 20 ppl comfortably; there is no service out at the pool. The gym can fit maybe ten people (you can find cold water in the gym so go there to fill up your water bottles). The location of the Mills is the best part! Walking distance to everything from King to East Bay, etc. The area is safe and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

Small issues but very inconvenient stay

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Room was decent
Cons: The hotel seems to lack forethought about small details that impact their guests.
Location: Good location to all of the historic area and shopping
First, after driving 9 hours we arrived at the hotel and were told valet service was unavailable because the lot was full. Magically, after complaining to the hotel desk during check-in they found a spot(?) Then, the next day, after walking all over the historic district in 90+ degree weather we went up to our room and neither card key would work. We had to go back down to the front desk to get new keys where the clerk said cell phones can wipe the cards. However, our keys were never near our phones all day. The next day we came back from a day at Isle of Palms and a huge storm rolled through town. Since we couldn't go anywhere we decided to watch TV only to discover this hotel had DirectTV service and the satellite was blocked by clouds and rain for nearly 2 hours. Later, we needed change for a $20 and the front desk could only offer 20 one dollar bills. The next day, we again came back from the beach to find that the City of Charleston was doing road work right in front of the hotel and the valet. We had to circle the hotel for several minutes until the small spot to valet was vacant. The hotel should have had some contingency for this given the already congested area downtown. These are small issues but give the cost of the hotel management needs to consider the overall experience. Perhaps we just had bad luck here. In general, the hotel is conveniently located and the room was decent. We enjoyed the bar and the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
It was perfect, repeat visit and we'll be back again next year
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

Poor staff. Poor facilities

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Prior to check-in tried to valet to so that i can get my sleepy kid intothe hotel effortlessly, but the staff tell me that i should probably just usethe self parking option around the back since they couldnt help. Check into the room. Walk in to the room and the room carpet had blowers set up since it was just cleaned. The front desk had no idea. Had to wait to get another room. Nice looking hotel but staff needs some education and organization.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Needs updating; nice location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We reserved a poolside room. The day of we received a call asking if we wanted to "upgrade" to a junior sweet. We declined the offer as we booked that hotel for the poolside patio. When we got there they still put us in the "junior suite". They said it was a king bed, it was not. The conversation poolside sounded like a lot of others had the same experience. Pretty disappointing. For the cost it was not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T, New York

Outstanding location in Charleston

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The Mills House has a great location, the hotel has great Southern charm and hospitality. Also loved the Barbados Room for cocktails and small meals. The concierge we had during our stay, Maggie, was a pleasure to work with and a great help in all of our needs.