Ratings based on 1,320 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the location!

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Great but unobtrusive service. Like the restaurant for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ;St. George Island, FL

Great Hotel in Heart of Historical District

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Mills House is an excellent place to stay in downtown Charleston. Staff professional, décor attractive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton NJ

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Very quaint hotel! Super friendly staff and great service. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great Charleston location for an old hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The Mills House is located very near Charleston's famous Battery. It is within walking distance of many historical Charleston attractions. The hotel lobby & its courtyard are beautiful and a real treat to sit in and enjoy a cocktail. The staff is friendly, very responsive & most willing to help. An elevator ride moves you to residences that are just very old & small. The room has had multiple face lifts over the years but, only a complete tear down will remedy the room's physical inadequacies. Maintenance must be a nightmare for the hotel's engineering staff. The rooms are quite small for two people. However, everything in the room was functional and clean. The reasonable room rate can be attributed to the age of this establishment. Given the Mills House constraints & advantages listed above, one must chose for themselves what suits there need. I will be choosing another hotel when I return to Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Beautiful

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Beautiful hotel, friendly, helpful staff! Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I am very happy with the hotel but not with Expedia. The hotel did not have my reservation when I checked in. It's the first time I used Expedia and I will be hesitant to use it again based on thus experience..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location with Bad Service

Posted Nov 13, 2017
While the hotel was in a great location and was within walking distance to most everything the service was terrible. I was on a girls trip with my mother and sister and at the end of the night we would sit in our room and talk late into the night. Each night a security officer would come to our room and ask us to stop talking. So we sat in our room and whispered at the end of each of our days. So they only time we spent in hotel we had to whisper!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a beautiful place to stay

Posted Nov 8, 2017
The hotel is located in a great part of Charleston. The staff is friendly. The rooms are nice but bathrooms need to be updated
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florid

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Nice room. Well located.
Cons: They need to understand that live bands on the patio can be heard throughout the property.
Live band for wedding reception playing until 11:30PM. I was very tired and went to bed early. Band woke me up at 10:15. No way to sleep after that. Front desk said there was nothing they could do. They referred me to the manager who would be ther in the morning. He wasn't but the concierge expressed concern and said she would relay the problem and I would hear from him in the afternoon. I never heard a word. I had suggested the hotel comp one night of my stay so l guess he avoided me so he wouldn't have to do that. Highly unsatisfactory stay. I'll not go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional staff!!

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Everyone on staff was exceptional . Room a tad smalll but workable. Great location