Ratings based on 1,281 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the heart of historic Charleston

Posted Oct 11, 2017
I'd definitely recommend this hotel. It's charming, clean & comfortable. You cannot beat the location in the heart of historic Charleston. Fantastic restaurants, shops, art galleries and museums within one block in all directions. Great value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great place to stay in Historic Charleston

Posted Oct 11, 2017
My wife and I were very pleased with our stay. Hotel is walking distance to most everything you’d want to do in Charleston. Within a block are several nice restaurants, check out Husk but call we’ll in advance to get a reservation. The Shops on King St and open air Market on Market St offer a great variety and..,did I mention the restaurants?!! The hotel restaurant good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston, sc

Last minute stay!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I had booked another hotel and when I saw it upon arriving...from the outside...it looked nothing like the online photos! I immediately got on Expedia, found yours...and booked it...cancelled the other. I really enjoyed my stay...housekeeping was awesome!!! I will return with my husband! Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Worst customer service

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Stayed for college tour. Overpriced and not helpful/friendly. Much nicer hotels by marina. Not worth the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel public spaces are lovely. Rooms are quite tired and dated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The service, ambience and location.
Cons: My only suggestion would be to have a larger fitness center, but with all walking around the city I probably would not have had the energy to use it!
Location: It will take several trips to enjoy all this city has to offer.
I stayed at the Mills House the last week in August, 2017, and was very pleased with my accommodations and the friendly, gracious service. The ambience reflects the historic elegance of the city of Charleston, and is located downtown, near all the great restaurants, art galleries and beautiful neighborhoods. I will make a point to return and see more of this lovely city, while being spoiled at this fine hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grayslake, IL

The Mills House, Charleston at its Best!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: It is what one would expect a southern hotel should be!
Cons: I have no comment.
Location: In the historic district, great restaurants across the street and others within walking distance. Easy access to King Street shopping.
My wife and I came to the Mills House last year to celebrate our 40th anniversary. We enjoyed the hotel so much, we came back to celebrate our 41st. From the friendly, easy check in to the great Barbados Room bar and restaurant, the staff and service was second to none! We enjoyed the pool and the easy parking. We are currently planning our return for our 42nd anniversary!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and perfect location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The room was spacious, very clean, and quiet. The décor was newly renovated. The bathroom was large and very clean. Large number of attractions within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Va

Wonderful stay.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Have stayed there twice and will stay again and again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel is in a great location down town and walking distance to a lot of things. I loved that we were able to check in to our room a few hours early. However I wasn't to impressed with the room it was small and had no refrigerator or microwave. The bathroom was dirty the shower needed to be cleaned and I found a long piece of hair folded up in my bath towel. Parking is also $20 per day. I would not stay here again it's not worth it for the price.