Ratings based on 1,089 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Fun hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Fun atmosphere, great staff, fun art tour.
Cons: My wife tripped on a small step into the bathroom. Coffee was free to hotel guests in the coffee shop, but not free in the restaurant.
My wife and I had a great stay. This hotel is close to everything we wanted to see and do. We were able to take a water taxi from the end of the pier that was a block from the hotel over to Patriots Point and Fort Sumter. We were also just a short walk from a lot of great restaurants, pubs, and tourist attractions. There was no breakfast included, but the rooms were priced lower than some of the other hotels in the area, and we were able to enjoy breakfast in the restaurant and coffee shop downstairs for less money than the cost difference in the rooms. There is a lot of art in the hotel and we were able to take a fun art tour given by one of the hotel staff, right after enjoying free cocktails one afternoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Fabulous in every way

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Vacation is the time to treat yourself and you will do that at The Vendue! The staff is fabulous and go above and beyond in every way. This is an art hotel with over 400 pieces throughout the hotel and an art gallery, if you are into that kind of thing, which I am. They even have an art docent on staff with daily wine receptions and art tours. The Vendue has a sister hotel located on Folly Beach which makes trips to the beach easy as well. The Vendue has a fabulous rooftop deck with drink and food service that is popular with locals as well which makes for a great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top Notch

Posted Jul 25, 2017
100% amazing from check in to check out. It is evident why this was named the best hotel.in Charleston
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We were not greeted at check in and the lady seemed inconvenienced. We were not given a tour as they could not get anyone to come to the front area for us. Every morning at 5 am, delivery trucks and garbage trucks started slamming right outside of our window. It was impossible to sleep between the hours of 5 and 7am. We stayed at The Market Pavilion last year, and it was by far, the better choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over the top complimentary

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The staff is probably the friendliest I've ever experienced. Mark the doorman couldn't be friendlier!!! They had a complimentary bottle of spirits in the room and told me "if you kill it let us know and we'll bring you another one". Free wine at an art party for 2 hrs, and many other things I didn't have time to take advantage of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We recently spent 3 nights at the Vendue and had a great experience. The hotel staff was very accommodating and courteous. The rooms were nice though slightly on the smaller side that we expected. Our original room was on the third floor directly under the rooftop bar. The first night was a little loud with the sounds of chairs moving. I spoke with hotel staff and told them that I was a light sleeper. They moved us to a better room and better location immediately. You can easily walk to some of the best restaurants and bars in town. Overall we had a great experience and would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: Nothing
Location: There was easy access to everything, the location could not have been more perfect for what we wanted to see and do.
Everything was great! Staff were all helpful and nice. The hotel was quaint and everything that we were hoping for. It has a wonderful restaurant and roof top bar with amazing views. It was also in a great location, we were only there two days but will definitely be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

It's like staying at a fine Art Museum

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Incredible art hanging in every hallway, and a gorgeous Art Gallery, too! The Rooftop Bar has the greatest views of Charleston and the rivers in the city. Super comfortable bed and a modern bathroom made our stay perfect. The location is great, very close to East Bay restaurants and a block from the Waterfront Park which has shaded walkways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
very nice hotel except for the bed. It was a little too wobbly for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyler,Texas

Perfect for out stay

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: location, location, location! Also enjoyed the artwork in the hotel. The rooms were pleasant and just what we were looking for.
Location: Lots of shops and good eating places with a variety of prices. We were impressed with the Slave Market Museum.
The Vendue Was the perfect location for two day stay in Charleston. Touring The local surroundings was easy with the hotel being only a half walk from the seawall. The staff assisted us with getting a riding tour of Charleston and provided other helpful information.