Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg PA

Historic Luxury

Posted Dec 29, 2017
This the the way to spend a few days in Savannah! Exquisite mansion, great location, gourmet breakfast, delightful fellow guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Teresa and Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your kind review! We are the new owners of Dresser Palmer House and are committed to providing a great experience for our guests both at our Inn and in our beautiful city!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but would not go back

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: It was very quiet and homey. The staff was always smiling and eager to help with anything.
Cons: A wider range of breakfast options would be nice. The food was homemade and ok, but was definitely not suitable for a selective eater.
The thermostat in our room was broken. We alerted the owner who attempted to turn on the heat for us. After 2 days, we were finally moved in to a new room but only after we requested it. 2 nights were spent in temps from 63 to 82, bouncing back and forth from cold to hot, then just hot. The bathroom was so small, it was claustrophobic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Mike and Teresa, Hotel Management
Hi Miss B, There is no way to change what happened with the thermostat during your stay. We did have the HVAC contractor come out to assess the situation, which we assumed would be repaired quickly. He "fixed it" but then it became apparent he did not. We did move you as soon as we were aware of the situation. We ask guests at check-in if they have allergies or intolerances or food they just don't like. We have a small home kitchen, not a commercial one, so it is important to us to know if we have dietary needs to meet. We would encourage you to please tell your next innkeeper if you would prefer something different than what is offered. We alternate between sweet (think pancakes, blintzes, waffles) and savory (primarily egg dishes) menus and would be more than happy to accommodate your selective requests. Your bathroom is 7 ft x 6 ft (yes, I measured) which is not smaller than the average bathroom in today's homes. We are a historic home and thus have limited space to convert to allow a bathroom in every bedroom. We will again encourage guests to share concerns while on the premises so we can do our utmost to meet your needs. Thank you for your candor. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Beautiful old building with a modern and very well finsihed bathroom including in our case a large walk in shower. The area is quiet and very safe. It is very enjoyable to walk the area and view all the old houses and the park-like squares that come up every few streets. There are a couple of very close by restaurants, thae majority of them are however about 20 minutes walk away. Never the less, we walked everywhere and the car never moved after we arrived.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you Gary for your thoughtful review of our inn. We love our location because everything you would want to see is between our inn and the River. Savannah was made for walking and that's just what we encourage our guests to do. You will miss so much if you try to see our city from the inside of a car. We look forward to seeing you again one day and getting your impressions of the improvements we will have made by then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic mansion in historic district

Posted Oct 27, 2017
I stayed at the Dresser Palmer for almost a week during a conference, and had a very nice experience. The building and rooms were beautiful, and the bathtub is a luxury which I will not experience again any time soon. Breakfasts were good, but typically came out ~15 minutes after the designated time which made it difficult sometimes to attend given that this was a business trip. When I was able to attend, they were quite good and the company was relaxed. We always had a nice chat. There were always free deserts, tea, etc. The staff was either extraordinarily friendly or a tad cold. I don't say this to detract anyone from staying here, but more to help the hotel with their quality. Overall I highly recommend staying here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Your review of our bed and breakfast was so lovely and thoughtful, thank you! We are sorry that we ran behind in the kitchen while you were here. We are all new to this kitchen and are still working out a few of the kinks and peculiarities of the appliances. Give us just a bit more time and we promise - food will arrive on time and hot! We do take our guest suggestions to heart and it is our goal to have all of our innkeepers present a warm welcome and interactions throughout a guest stay. It is very important that we as a team keep your comfort in mind. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to help our innkeepers grow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

In the heart of the Historic District

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast was heavy on bready foods, and often tepid.
Location: Near Forsyth Square. Great place to begin your walk through the 22 historic squares.
Comes with its own ghost story. We stayed in the Henry Dresser room but had no encounters with the ghost of Madaline. For a fun review of this property, Google "Youthful and Ghostly Energy Swirls at Dresser Palmer Inn".
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travelers. We are very grateful for any feedback that helps us improve your stay. We will be reviewing some of our food menus as the New Year begins to bring some healthier choices into the rotation. We recently took over this beautiful old inn and are working diligently to make changes that will enhance our guests stay. Again, Thank you.
5 out of 5
by Tasha

Amazing Home, Lovelt Stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful home, lovely staff, and perfect accommodations. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again. My mom thought the mattresses were too soft. Otherwise, everything was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017
Tasha, Thank you so much for the kind and lovely words you have for our inn and our staff. They truly do work hard to create memorable experiences for our guests. I do have to tell you I agree with your mom - I prefer a firmer mattress, but my husband sleeps just fine on softer ones! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with other Expedia travelers.
5 out of 5
by Kate Branson from Fort Worth, Texas

Beautiful place

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
We were very pleased. The staff was pleasant and Kim and Marcus were always available when we needed anything. They booked our tours, recommended places to see, even gave us a recommendation for pizza delivery. Kiki kept our room neat and clean, and was just a joy to visit with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017
Dear Kate, We are so appreciative when guests recognize how hard we all work to make your Savannah experience great. Thank you! Warm regards, Staff (Kim, Brittany, Marcus, Janice, Keke)
4 out of 5
by Michelle

Lovely house in a great setting

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
We wanted to enjoy Savannah fully, and that meant avoiding a chain hotel. We opted to stay in the Dresser Palmer, and I would highly recommend this B&B for location: the street is gorgeous and it’s just a block or two from Forsyth Park, and a reasonable walk to shops and restaurants. The house is lovely overall, and our interactions with Marcus (innkeeper) were always pleasant. We stayed in one of the basement rooms, because it as the only option with 2 beds. If I were to plan this trip over, I would likely stay in an upper room if at all possible. While the room was immaculate, and spacious, it was dark and just a bit spooky, having older brick walls, stone floors, and no windows. Additionally, one of the two beds was just incredibly loud and creaky... I could barely turn over without waking up anyone else in the room. The included breakfast was fine, and the inn has free WiFi and parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017
Michelle, thank you so much for your kind review. The house is indeed old and needs quite a bit of attention and that is just what we are doing as the new owners and managers. We are very happy you enjoyed your interactions with Marcus and the rest of the staff. It is comments such as yours that remind us why we do what we do. Thank you for the heads up on the bed - we'll get that taken care of ASAP. Since your visit we have repaired walls and plaster and repainted the Garden level rooms. On your next visit, if two beds are needed, ask if the Ralph Gilbert room is available. It is on the main level. Again, thank you for your kind words.
5 out of 5
by Malinda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
Only complaints-- stairs down to the Wisteria room were a little tough to navigate -- need better lighting and need a handrail that goes all the way to the top of the stairs. Also, noticed some water damage in the ceiling here and there-- but it's an old old place, so didn't bother me. Beyond that, it's beautiful. Wisteria room is great for sleeping because you're essentially under the house and it's a bit of a cave down there. Food was delicious. Location was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017
John, Thank you so much for your kind words. As the new managers/tenants of this beautiful old building we are very grateful to guests who share with us their thoughts and reactions. We are definitely pro-active and work hard to create the best experience possible for our guests. We quite agree with you regarding the handrails and more lighting. Since you were last with us we have added another light, and are working on installing a handrail. Again, thank you so much for your feedback. As we continue to make changes here we hope you will return and share with us your new impressions.