Ratings based on 636 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Typical HGI

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Close to airport and some local restaurants.
Cons: Like all HGIs, the AC is very noisy which makes it hard to sleep, the TV connection is poor, and the vanity lighting is so poor.
Location: See above.
I've been staying at this location for years on my business trips to SAV.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for kindly taking the time to share your experience on your recent visit. We are glad you found our location convenient for your travels! However, I apologize for the multiple issues you experienced with regards to the air conditioner noise, the television, and the lighting. Please know it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, and your feedback will be used to improve our services on all fronts. On your next visit, please let us know if we can assist you with a particular room so we can have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your candid feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Paul Komanecky General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for kindly taking the time to rate our hotel. I hope you will accept our apologies for the disappointments you experienced during your stay with us. From your rating of our hotel, it is obvious we did not meet your expectations and we are sorry for letting you down. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, and we hope to regain your trust on a future visit with us. Paul Komanecky General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

No River views, just roof tops

Posted May 15, 2017
We called looking for river views and were quite clear. We were told yes sir, no problem. Only problem is they are not in the river. Are room did face the river but we were looking at Best Western's roof top instead of river.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing a review of your experience. We are very sorry for any confusion regarding our location. We will share your comments with our front desk staff to ensure we are properly communicating important details. We hope to be of service to you again in future. Sincerely, Paul Komanecky - General Manager
5 out of 5
by Aimee

Will definately return to this Hilton Garden Inn!!

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
I love this hotel! Very close to everything in the historic district. The staff was very gracious and helpful. Our room was facing the pool side and was quiet. A little wear & tear in the bathroom and hall ways of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was very good. The hotel bar had a good selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Aimee, thank you for being our guest. We appreciate you highlighting the service provided by our staff the location being in the heart of this district. We agree our hotel is beginning to show its age, and we are happy to report that we are scheduled to begin a total renovation later this year. We look forward to seeing you again to enjoy our refreshed facility. Paul Komanecky, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Terry

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District. It's nice to see that we met all of your expectations and you had an excellent stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit. Paul Komanecky, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel is in a perfect location and within walking distance to everything. Our room was facing the river so it was a little noisy. I also felt that the room was a little dated especially for the price point. But you're basically paying for location! The bathroom floor was a little dirty...my daughters feet were black after walking on it. And there was a red chair in our room that was also dirty as well...it had black stuff on it. I'm not sure that we would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District for your trip. We are happy to know you loved our location and had an overall nice stay. However, I am sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered while you were here. I have shared your comments with my housekeeping team to take corrective actions immediately. We hope you will consider giving our hotel another chance when you return to the area. Paul Komanecky, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Love this hotel, staff and location.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The bell boys were always willing to help with valet services, luggage, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Issac, thanks so much for your awesome review. We are so happy to know you loved our hotel and that out staff was attentive to all your needs. I will surely share your comments with my team members. On behalf of everyone here at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, we invite you to stay with us again whenever you are in this area. Paul Komanecky, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Friendly staff, the check in quick also staff recommended a great view, provided us with locations to check out & hours without us needing to ask :) loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District. We are glad you loved our excellent service and location as well as the beautiful view. Please come stay with us again soon! Paul Komanecky, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Joseph

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was quick and friendly. Staff at hotel very helpful. Noise level in room was high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
We thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay, which was mostly pleasant. We do apologize that noise during the evening hours was excessive. When you return, and we hope you will, please request a room on a higher level in a quieter section of the hotel, which should resolve this issue. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience on your next trip to our city. Paul Komanecky General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL.

Nice hotel well located.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Can walk to most sights. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Gave us free drink tickets for the bar since they had to change rooms for the second night. Concierge was helpful as well Recommend the Olde Savanna Tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Linda, thank you for reviewing your visit to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel and our staff’s courteous service. We hope you will choose us again when your travels bring you back to Savannah. Paul Komanecky, General Manager