Ratings based on 2,991 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great location but inappropriate staff

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: The location is great. Access to both River St. and Bay St. from the hotel.
Cons: The staff needs to be re-trained. You are treated like you're at a Motel 6 when you're paying like your are at a Four Seasons.
Location: As many great bars, restaurants, and breweries as you care to go to.
Hotel was located in the perfect spot in Savannah. You are literally in the middle of River St. and Bay St. You are within walking distance to most bars and restaurants. This issue with this hotel is staff that acts completely awful. During your stay, you are invited to enjoy free wine from 5-6:30. While we were enjoying this, the bartender scoffed at me while I was getting drinks until finally she stated, "God, still no tip!". I had planned on tipping her at the end of our time enjoying ourselves but I assume that she wanted money for each glass of wine I grabbed off the bar top. It was an embarrassing experience because she said it loud enough for a half dozen people to turn around and stare at me. I took this issue to the front desk. I told them I had an issue and without acknowledging me she turned to someone and said, "Do you have time to listen to a complaint?". I was then basically accused of sending my fiancée to complain first, then going up there myself to make it look like a double complaint.... My fiancée never left the bar area. So the bartender had clearly done this to someone else who had complained right before me. The other issue was a housekeeper that came into our room without knocking and walked in on my fiancée who was changing clothes at the time. She was too embarrassed to say anything to the front desk. It most likely wouldn't have mattered anyway as we would have been asked if we had sent someone else to complain about the same thing earlier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by J Henderson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Chad. We will use your review to better our guest experience. Please rest assured that we do not tolerate rudeness by any staff member and the issue you referred to at our bar has been addressed. The other issues we will certainly look into now that we are aware of them. We hope you enjoyed our city. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Old fashioned inn right on River Street

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Great stay, large comfortable rooms, clean, great service. A bit old fashioned and some of the lights flickered, the a/c was not always cold, but it added to the charm in my opinion. Right on the river street close to the shops. My only complaint is that the staff took forever to bring our bags, and they did not tell us about the free wine and snacks available until we were checking out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by J Henderson, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback Beth! We appreciate your review and will address the comments in your post with our staff. We hope to see you the next time you're in Savannah!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga, New Zealand

Hotel on river front

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location to the township and cafes/restaurants.
Cons: Could do with a soft renovation of the dated carpet etc and dingy paint.
Location: Café right next door which was a great option for breakfast and restaurants below the hotel along the river frontage or those in town.
Ok hotel on the river front so great location for walking around Savannah. Unfortunately our room was not what we had expected from our booking through Expedia and have advised them as such. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was ok considering the age however the AC in our room was concerning as there was a sparking noise and smell of smoke every time we turned it on. Staff were unconcerned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by J Henderson, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us Maree. We will use your feedback to better our guest experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Quaint Inn on River Street

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: I loved the complimentary happy hour every day!
Cons: The AC could be better. We had it turned down as low as it could go, but would still wake up in the middle of the night hot.
Location: Right on River Street next to restaurants, bars, and shops!
A great place to stay when you go to Savannah! Perfect location, you can walk almost anywhere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by mgreer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia

Nice hotel on the river front

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful older style of room, very spacious. Staff were kind and got me into my room as quick as they could given i had been travelling for 15 hours and was run flat. I enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by mgreer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes, our building is actually 200 years old, built in 1817! We're happy you appreciated our history and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great hotel and perfect location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Loved it! We would definitely stay here again! The location is great and the two Restaurants adjacent to the hotel are both good. The hotel has easy access to River Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by mgreer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed our unsurpassed location! We look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
My wife and I stayed at River Street Inn. Our room, as well as the rest of the hotel was extremely nice. Very elegant, classy hotel with a highly professional and courteous staff, and the price is surprisingly affordable. I would most definitely stay again, and would recommend River Street Inn to anyone who is planning a trip to Savannah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by J Henderson, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us David! We hope to see you the next time you return to Savannah!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

Great location & a beautiful building.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great location, beautiful building, and comfortable! The staff needs some work though. The better half and I both worked in the service industry formerly which probably makes us more tolerant than most in this area. The staff was not rude, just disorganized and not really willing to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by J Henderson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will use your feedback to better our guest experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Coast, FL

Our favorite hotel in Savannah

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We have stayed at the River Street Inn each time we come to Savannah. It has never let us down. Great rooms, staff, and location. An old building on the river with plenty of charm and warmth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by J Henderson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you the next time you're in Savannah!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Could have been lovely.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: It was quaint and oldy worldy
Cons: a bloody good clean, including the open brickwork
Location: location great, lots to do
Well, I was surprised when I called the hotel at 6.30pm night before my stay, to ask about getting from the airport to the hotel. The reason for doing this was, every time I tried to use your on line method of finding transport,i kept being sent to private cars for rental or hire,even though the sight said all methods of transport. Any so I rang the hotel, only to be told the receptionist was dealing with someone else and could I wait, then when she picked up the line, I asked for suggestions or phone numbers on how to get to the hotel from the airport, I was informed, that she was night staff only and did know any numbers or cost of a taxi from the airport. luckily some shouted over her that there were loads of taxis, just get one. off to a not very charming start. I found the staff at reception courteous but curt and uninterested in any questions I had about places to visit. The room was generally clean but there were old rings and finger prints on the surfaces, dust on some of the furniture. Windows were dirty, and there was constant music from down stairs from at least 10..00 until 7pm, a constant thump-thump.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by J Henderson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Lloyd. We will use your feedback to better our guest experience.