Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Elegant welcoming bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Charm, elegance, wonderful staff, great food, location in the historic district.
Cons: Nothing other than that particular room location.
Location: Pedicabs made trips to restaurants and historic sites easy and educating, although those who like to walk can get there that way.
My husband and I stayed at the Gastonian as we toured possible retirement locations in the Savannah area. It had a real feeling of being your home away from home. Delicious breakfasts in the kitchen where you could watch the chef and crew cook were wonderful. At night, we came back to tempting desserts and sherry before bed. We enjoyed meeting and having conversations with the other guests as we gathered. The room we had was beautiful and had a working fireplace and jetted tub, but unfortunately was located directly under the kitchen, where every morning at 5:30 we woke to the sound of footsteps walking back and forth and chairs scraping the floor, as the staff readied those delicious breakfasts I mentioned above. Even our white noise machine couldn't drown out the sounds coming from upstairs. I would recommend this hotel, however, not the room located under the kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful Southern Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Beautiful historic architecture, delightful staff, 24 hour assistance if needed- always a staff member available.
Cons: Minor grounds issues - e.g. lights out in areas outside of the Gastonian- in outside patio area and outside some rooms (lights not secured to the wall
Location: Forsyth Park is a short walk and most restaurants and attractions are within walking distance. Many great restaurants in the area!
Our stay at the Gastonian was a highlight of our trip to Savannah. The Bed & Breakfast is beautiful and the individual rooms have their own personilty and are named after well recognized people who once lived in Savannah. The staff was a delight and always eager to help visitors have their best stay. We looked forward everyday to breakfast, horsdoeuvres, and dessert! All were a treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IndiANA

Historic Bed & Breakfast in Savannah Georgia

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The historic value maintained and the staff that goes above and beyond to ensure the stay is perfect in what they have control over.
Cons: Parking can be tricky, but regardless, they will make sure your vehicle is securely accommodated
Location: Cabs to River Street for shopping is reasonable.
Historic B&B with charm and a staff that is gracious and eager to make the stay memorable. The bedrooms have period furnishings but updated for comfort are ceiling fans and air conditioning. Cooked to order breakfast is quite delicious and can be served to your room, eaten in the kitchen or in the dining room. Afternoon Wine and appetizers with and late afternoon Desserts create a friendly atmosphere to meet other guests. Parking is sometimes limited, but the staff will move your vehicle for you. All in all a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Augustine, FL

lovely quiet hotel.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: No
Location: Out of town but, lovely neighborhood.
Friendly staff. Cozy fireplace room enjoyed the large bathroom with big tub and large shower. Excellent breakfast with many choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Great representation of Savannah history & culture

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: We loved our room with its era-appropriate decor and modern conveniences.
Location: The hotel is in a largely residential area, very close to beautiful Forsyth Park. It is only a few minutes' walk from restaurants and shops.
This boutique hotel consists of two adjacent 1860s homes, transformed into 17 guest rooms, a spacious dining/lounging area and a couple of pretty outdoor sitting and garden areas. There is a concierge always available to provide assistance, advice and cold drinks. The complimentary food (breakfast, happy hour hors d'oeuvres and dessert) and wine were all excellent. Free wi-fi and and parking were icing on the cake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for this lovely review! I really appreciate how you explained our property for future guests. I hope you will come back to visit! Safe travels always, Laura Hammond Innkeeper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Best b&b ever

Posted May 31, 2017
This was one of our favorite places we have ever stayed. Amazing staff and beautiful house. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you, Nicole! Please come back to visit again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Beautiful and historic

Posted May 23, 2017
Wonderful and friendly place to stay in Savannah. The neighborhood was quiet and lovely as well as centrally located. The staff couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. The hotel was beautiful and spotless with graciously sized rooms and bathrooms with everything you could need. We also had access to a pretty balcony outside our room which was nice for breakfast and wine in the evening. I highly recommend the Gastonian and would definitely book again if I go back to Savannah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Innkeeper, Hotel Management
Allie, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! The staff work very hard to make every stay unique and enjoyable, so it is nice to be able to show them their hard work pays off. Safe travels always, Laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Gracious Southerb Hospitality

Posted May 17, 2017
The Gastonian is perfectly located in the Savannah historic district, making the entire area quite walkable. Afternoon apps and drinks and pleasant conversation with other guests was enjoyable. This otherwise well-maintained and tastefully appointed b&b had one glaring, inexplicable exception in our bathroom. The adjustable mirror was mounted on an untrimmed, unfinished piece of scrapwood, then fastened to the wall! What were they thinking? Little details make all the difference between four and five stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Grand old dame

Posted May 11, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Location, and style
Location: Close to everything in beautiful neighbourhood.
Great atmosphere with friendly attentive staff. Would recommend to all.