Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Very good hotel clean and friendly staff good location great breakfast and nice bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Chiara, Hotel Management
Dear Will, Greetings from the Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Thank you for your positive review, it is a pleasure read this kind of comment. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again, here at the San Francesco al Monte! Kindest Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, full of character

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: It was like living in a museum or an art gallery - very decorative and full of history.
Cons: The hot water in the bathroom was a bit slow.
Location: It's a short walk from the Piazza Plebiscito, from where you can see much of the city.
We were here for our honeymoon and it turned out to be perfect for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Chiara , Hotel Management
Dear George, Greetings from the Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Thank you for you positive review, it has been a pleasure for us give the welcome to such kind guests like you and we are glad to know that your Honeymoon has been so great here, at the San Francesco. We are happy that you have appreciated the historicity of the Hotel, is one of the features that makes us unique. About the problem of the hot water, thank you for have reported it, in this way we could solve it. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again. Kindest Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Great hotel with great views would definitely recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Chiara , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Thank you for your positive feedback, we have really appreciated it! Come back soon! Kindest Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colchester, England

Characterful hotel high above the city centre

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Character architecture. Wonderful views. Tasteful decoration.
Location: About five minutes walking to funiculars to and from the city centre, so fairly convenient. There is also a bus stop outside the hotel.
Wonderful views of the city, Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples from our bedroom, the breakfast terrace and the roof garden and pool. Staff very helpful. Very good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Chiara , Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Greetings from the Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Thank you for your nice review. We have happy that you have appreciated our strong points, like the view and the position, which allows our guest to reach the most important places of our city, in a very simple way. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the next future. Kindest Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Wonderful ex convent hotel built into the cliff side. Wonderful decoration throughout and much room to explore. Like staying in a museum. Lovely rooms with great views and helpful staff on reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Rita, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, Thank you very much for your review, we are really happy that you enjoy your experience in our Hotel/museum! Hope to see you in the future Rita
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

A lovely hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The terrace and the roof garden (with pool) were great, and our room was very comfortable.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots to see in the city and the surrounding area. We booked a trip to the Amalfi coast through the hotel reception, which was excellent.
This is a lovely hotel with a terrace, that overlooks the city and has views towards Mount Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples, and a superb roof garden with pool and sun loungers. The hotel staff were extremely courteous and very helpful. Good food in the restaurant, though dinner is a little bit pricey. Overall, this is an excellent and we would gladly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Chiara , Hotel Management
Dear Adrian, Greetings from the Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure read these nice and detailled review. We are glad that you have appreciated our strong points, like the view and our staff. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again. Kindest Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel with great view over city and coast

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and Staff all positive.
Cons: Renovation of bathroom in one of our rooms and assistance with information or arrangements for cable car into central Naples given regular use needed.
Location: Possibly one of the best views from rooftop. Location not ideal for evening walk around central Naples.
Hotel has been restored with retaining historic importance. Likely to be one of the best views in Naples from the rooftop that said location was not ideal for central city experience and evening walks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Chiara , Hotel Management
Dear Kt, Greetings from the Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Thank you for your review. It is always important have this kind of feedback, in order to improve the level of our structure. But please note, that about we are very well connected with two lines of the Funicular, that take you, with just 10-15 minutes, in different but always central parts of the city. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again, here at the San Francesco al Monte. Kindest Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Lovely hotel in a convenient location (close to the Spanish quarters and Toledo metro station). The roof terrace with the pool is great and has amazing views on the city and Mt.Vesuvius - a pity though it's only open from 9.00-17.00 evenue during the summer! The hotel is on a main road which is a bit noisy including at night (at least if your room is facing the road) bit it didn't prevent me from sleeping. Breakfast is OK but not amazing. All in all though I would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Interesting boutique hotel with wonderful view

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Built in the rock front, with intriguing chapel and related cave like rooms to explore (not the bedrooms). Fantastically helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful outdoor seventh floor with pool and decent poolside food. Local pizzeria has tasty food but lacks English speaking staff. Local carrefore for buying water. Nothing else nearby though, be ready to walk a lot up/down steep hill /taxi. Rooms comfortable and unique, but in need of modernisation of air con and bathroom.
5 out of 5
by Tom

A stand-out choice for staying in Naples

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
The al Monte is a great hotel choice for Naples. It is loaded with character. Every room, as far as I can tell, is a view room. The top-floor pool area is spectacular. The front desk is most pleasant.