Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok bed linen and towels need to be renewed

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The hotel was ok but didn't meet the sofitel standards need to be renovated .bes sheet and towels look bad couldnt beleive that was sofitel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from germany

Don't fall for the pictures online!!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This is the first time I have stayed at a hotel and everything that was posted in pictures was fraudulent!! The hotel is old and run down. One wing is closed off and you could see the windowless/doorless rooms from the pool. They trick you with pictures and put you in old run down rooms. They sure said they spoke English. Well if you like someone to smile and say yes ma'am without having a clue of what your requesting that this is your place. It was friststrating. The best part was the So lounge. I had made prior arrangements and they were forgotten about. However, 2 managers tried to mKe it better but it was a day late and a dollar short. They did not advertise of the "unexpected" restaurant closing time so we were hungry and forced to order expensive room service which was horrible. All I got was I'm sorry and a hefty room service bill. I have been to almost many European, Asian and S. American countries. This was my first Africa trip and it was terrible. Also there was tiles missing in the floor. Don't stay here!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Good location and stunning pool

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The hotel pool is stunning and I could easily spend all my time there. However, room cleaning service is far below its 5 star rating tho hotel management was very kind to offer me some flowers, perfume, a free meal to make up for it. All in all, it is a very nice hotel and good location but don't expect European standards of service there. I do believe this hotel made my holiday so much more enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Afamefuna

Fantastic hotel!!

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great and the service was fantastic!! The general manager for guest relations was awesome!! He arranged a bouquet of flowers for my wife who was celebrating her 40th birthday and also arranged a late check out for us at no extra cost. One of the restaurant staff also arranged a cake at no extra cost for her in less than a couple of hours!! My friends and I had a great time!! Will definitely visit again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, TERRIBLE service

Posted May 31, 2017
We stayed at the Sofitel Lounge & Spa for two nights while in Marrakech. One thing to note is that the Lounge & Spa is the same hotel as the Palais Imperial (just different towers). While the grounds were very nice, the service was absolutely TERRIBLE. My husband and I had a horrible experience at the pool the second afternoon. We arrived around 2pm and after laying on our chairs for 45 minutes finally tracked down a waiter to get a food & drink menu. He came back 20 minutes later to take our order and we asked for a bottle of wine and scoop of ice cream. Another 45 minutes later he was nowhere to be found and we had not received our very simple order. I tracked down the pool manager and explained the situation and my frustration. He had another waiter come take care of us and he brought us an upgraded bottle of wine and some additional snacks which I assumed were on the hotel. As we were getting ready to leave we are hit with a bill charging us for a more expensive bottle of wine than we had originally ordered. At this point I was too annoyed to track down the manager again so just paid the bill and got out of there. The whole time we were there the service was awful, but this specific instance was the worst. Long story short, I would not suggest staying at the Sofitel. There are many other nice hotels around the area that I'm sure have much better service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to medina and guliez

Posted May 29, 2017
I stayed in the Sofitel lounge and spa part of the hotel. I booked the junior suite I think it was a newly refurbished room as it looked and smelt very new. The room had everything I needed. Staff were extremely friendly and also very helpful. You get free access to the So Lounge, Sofitels night club, as part of your stay. I didn't go but did sit in the garden and smoke shisha on a few nights which was open til 4am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hyattsville MD

Not so honest

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I would not recommend this hotel. For one on check in they gave me a room that had someone already in their, after their mistake they said they would upgrade me to a suite, only to find out when I got back home that they had charged me $600.00 on my credit card for no reason, which the credit card company is now investigating, also the hotel is for French speaking people even though government language is Arabic everything is in french even your hotel receipt which leaves you at the mercy of the hotel staff to translate for you, no where are you safe from people smoking except in your none smoking room, while checking in or out the hotel lobby is full of people smoking which should be for everyone and not for people who smoke, but for everyone. THIS IS WHY I CAN NOT RECOMMENDED THIS HOTEL FOR ITS DISHONESTY AND LACK OF RESPECT FOR ALL GUESTS.
5 out of 5
by Ben younes

Best hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with excellent staff service

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Hot & cold pool, spa, good food, comfy clean rooms and we were treated like VIPs by the staff!
Cons: There is nothing I can think of
Location: Hotel in a perfect location to the trendy bars/restaurants - minutes walking distance & only 15 minutes walk from the main square /medina/souks
The hotel caters for every need one would require for a vacation. Having travelled and stayed in many hotels I must comment on the excellent services received from the hotel staff and must mention Mr Rouduane and Mme Nafissa from Housekeeping - my room felt like a honeymoon suite with the beautiful flowers and candles that was made up for me and my partner, and whatever we required Mr Rouduane and Mme Nafissa was so quick to oblige us. I was particularly impressed with the professionalism of Miss Nassira and Miss Basma with assisting with any query we had whilst at the same time their demeanour and conduct made us feel like special VIP guests. Adil from concierge was also great too with all the advice of things to do in Marrakech from excursions to places to eat and visit. Thank you Sofitel staff for such a great experience! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A good hotel with a few niggles

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: The pool area
Cons: Make a more universal menu available in all areas
Location: Close to the centre. Nice area.
The hotel is beautiful with some great facilities such as the pool area and the spa facilities. There is also a functional gym and you can go for a approx 6km jog around the olive grve across the road. (I'm not sure whether a woman on their own would feel safe but with a jogging partner it ought to be fine). The gardens around the pool are beautful and the constant bird song is wonderful. You get all the usual stuff like helpful staff to bring towels to your seat when you are by the pool or bring drinks you order. The only niggles relate to ordering food. Unlike other hotels of this calibre you seem to only be able to order certain foods from certain restaurants at certain times. But these are just niggles - it really is a good hotel. ( Go for breakfast. A buffet of significant variety awaits you and it even includes a gluten free section for those who are coeliacs. As an aside, £100 bought us 800DH from one of the Exchange companies in Gatwick. This appears to be really bad value as it is a rate of 1:8 whereas at our hotel our bill gave a rate > 1:10. So, best not to buy beforehand, though you are limited to 2000DH anyway.