Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienient location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Interesting features with bar by the pool, a great place to relax after a long drive.
Cons: No, very pleasantly surprised how enjoyable our visit was.
Location: A convene the location when driving from the Durban area to Kruger.
A very pleasant overnight stay, relaxing and very good ambience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Really disappointing for a protea or marriot group comparatively. Staff disorganised -unaware of basics of check in and check out.poor communication between staff.room was not preinspected -toilet was leaking could have been reported by housekeeping rather than the inconvenience of requesting a room change. No bar fridge in rooms so we had to drink room temp water in the rooms.no complimentary water and restricted toileteries. No room service menu. Staff actually chose to look through our personal belongings which is unacceptable. Not ideal for kids .the jungle gym area needs attention. Childrens pool is overlooked by the bar! We had a family room.reasonable size but no bath tub in room for bathing baby.bathrrom also small. Staff at breakfast donot greet guests except the chef who was actually very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like a travelodge

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Rooms clean but no view at all. Was very disappointed to look and see a fence and a tree right against the window. Food was average. Safari was good. 3 hours not enough though. Hotel about 20 mins away fro Hluhluwe enterance
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel stay.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Protea Hotel. Hotel was neat and clean, food was great, staff were very friendly. Only issue we had was cold showers....not enough hot water for all the guests. That was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met our needs for the evening

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Convenient to the local attractions and safari's
The breakfast was very good. It was easy to find and very secure
5 out of 5
by S from durban

fair

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and i thought that it was lovely we enjoyed the pool party food was a little expensive b/fast very nice
5 out of 5
by themba

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ingle

One night stay

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
The reception staff and waiters in lounge area were very friendly and polite. The lounge and reception area was very nice.on the day we checked out we spent the day in the longe waiting for somebody to arrive and the staff were so caring and really looked after us. The room was lovely and comfortable however the passage way carpets were very stained that is why did not give a perfect rate. Found the buffet dinner very expensive for what was served also found the chef rather rude
1 out of 5
by SIMON from Grahamstown

WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT IN HLUHLUWE

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
I am usually a Protea Hotel fan and a prokard member for 4 years - but this hotel let the brand down terribly. The hotel rooms are extremely dated and dark and in need of a facelift. The bathroom was dirty and hooks on walls are loose and broken. (I have pictures is you would like them) and there where not enough towels or coffee cups in the room. I requested additional ones from reception and had to call twice to get them delivered. It seemed as if staff are on a permanent go slow (barring Derrick in the dining room - who was great) It felt like there was a lack of staff management and no direction. The supper was appalling - at a price of R 185.00 per head the only option was a basic buffet which was tough beef and hard boiled potatoes. The starter was a very small choice of salad table with what looked like yesterdays left overs. I am sadly disappointed in this hotel and would have been better off at a BnB in Hluhluwe.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Fort Worth

Clean, comfortable & quiet

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent accommodations for the price and area. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet (it was low season--so I cannot vouch for nose levels when the hotel is full). The bathroom had a spacious shower, no tub (not a problem for my visit). The restaurant provides an excellent breakfast buffet and operates for lunch and dinner. The pool area is nice. WiFi is available in the lobby lounge and dining area. The hotel provides gated security, with controlled access, for guest vehicles. The staff was gracious and accommodating from the beginning to end of our stay. We had a member of our travel party fall ill during our stay-- the staff arranged a far later than normal checkout to assist us. The hotel is convenient to Hluhluwe Game Park, offering a nice alternative lodging for those who do not desire to stay at a bush lodge. Guided safari drives are available from the resort. We found the hotel a convenient overnight before entering the park for a few days at a bush lodge. Overall, this hotel is an excellent value given price, accommodations, and area.