Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Very lovely lodge in middle of interesting reserve

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Bushwillow is an amazing find and we have already recommended to friends that live in the region. Under new management but from reading previous reviews, has done nothing to detract from this being a special place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017
Thank you for your review, we hope to keep up the trusted standard at Bushwillow and hope to welcome you here once again in future!
5 out of 5
by maria

outstanding wonderful experience!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
definitely be back it was truly wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017
We are very happy to hear that, we hope to welcome you again at Bushwilliw in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Once is a lifetime experience

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Great location, cozy accommodation, attentive staff, fantastic food.
Cons: I would not change a thing.
Location: Many game parks including Hluhluwe-Imfolozi park; St Lucia is pretty close too.
Our stay at Bushwillow was unbelievable: We had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed every minute of it. The giraffes that greeted her the first time we drove through Kuleni park to our cottage, the gazelles stopping by our windows in the morning and the monkeys occasionally playing in our "backyard" were some of the "neighbours" that have made us feel like we were living on a different planet for a few days (even the crazy thunderstorm we had one night contributed to a bit of a surreal experience)... The staff was very helpful and gave a us a lot of great recommendations / arranged for many activities. Last but not least, the cooking was flawless and gave us a chance to experience some of the local flavours (the peppadew chicken was certainly memorable!). We would highly recommend Bushwillow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Charlie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we enjoyed having you at Bushwillow and hope to see you again in future for some lovely meals and game drives! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX USA

Private Game Park

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Location and able to walk with the animals
Cons: Some people complained about lack of WiFi however you are in the bush and should be relaxing
Location: Not too far a drive to some national game parks
We had a lovely time. You are able to walk around the game area without assistance and see the animals close up. Some wart hogs lived under our room. Breakfast and Dinner were provided and were delicious. We asked for the recipe and was given it by email, so we can now enjoy making dinner and remembering of the wonderful time we had.
5 out of 5
by Stuart from Leeds

Bush special!

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
What a perfect location, set in a very private "bush" area and near to so many places to canoeingWe were in the Yellowwood double self catering accommodation. It has bifolding doors on 2 sides which open completely allowing a feeling of outdoor living. The personal plunge pool looked inviting but was just a little too cold in mid October. We had one evening meal in the lodge (ZAR200/person) and found the Amarello lodge, 2.5 km towards Sodwana Bay, for our internet fix, pizza, cocktails & beer. Lots of suggestions from Bushwillow for things to do & would really recommend the canoing with Themba. A special place which we would love to revisit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful self-contained unit away from it all

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels
Very clean and attractive studio suite with full kitchen. Only negative from a comfort standpoint is that there is no air-conditioning! Wonderful deck with plunge pool where you can sit and listen to the sounds in the Game Park while watching for birds and animals. It is 16 km from the nearest grocery store on good roads and the closest restaurant is 3 km away. We had a great free guided tour/nature walk within the Game park and found it very informative about the area its flora and fauna. Gives good access to neighbouring Game preserves of Hluhluwe and Mkhuze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stop looking, this is the one!

Posted Apr 18, 2013
Pros: View from the room
Had a fantastic time, the lodge has just two rooms and is situated in a small private game reserve making it quite unique, it was almost like we were the only people there with the friendly staff dedicated to just us! Would highly recomend to anyone looking for respite from the rat race. The rooms are lovely, from crisp linen to panoramic views and giraffe walking past whilst having our morning cuppa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Idyllic

Posted Feb 10, 2013
Wonderful location, great accommodation, fantastic food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

Fantastisch

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Prachtige locatie. Het personeel was erg behulpzaam en gaven goede tips. Het eten was heerlijk en wij hadden een prachtige kamer met een heerlijke badkamer. Een aanrader wat ons betreft!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your time, and will relay your message to our staff team as well. We hope to hosting you again at Bushwillow in future. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by Jean louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels