Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centralise located within district 1

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Nice hotel especially the cleaner n bellboy. Friendly and helpful if u have any queries. Response from reception is slow and unfriendly. Overall stay at the hotel is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nicer than most but pricier than most

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Clean and newer than most.
Location: This is a very central location in the heart of District 1, most things are short walk away.
I usually stay on this street, there are several hotel choices within a same block (maybe 5 or 6). Most of them are slightly cheaper. I paid $40/night at a "discounted" rate, and i would say that is a realistic rate for this type of property, as I usually pay around $30/night, but this hotel is a little bit nicer. Not much to say, the staff was nice and helpful. The doorman was a little annoying with offers to find my a "massage" girl, he was offering it to me 2-3 times a day, basically every time I returned to my room. The rooms are nice and clean, my first room did have some kind of bug infestation, they changed my room without a problem and i didn't see any more bugs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Unpleasant experience

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Staff overall is helpful. Close to the airport. Nothing special. Don't keep asking me to add more here. It's very unfriendly to users. me
Cons: 1) smell 2) insects inside hotel room 3) toilet can't flush well 4) no hot water and even water in my hotel room 5) had to change room 6) staff kept asking me for money
Location: There are many massages,spa service around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Very centralised. Close to the shopping area.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Overall my stay was good and as expected, as this place is recommended by friends. Very clean, effiecient and friendly staff and the location is very strategic for shoppers. For the standard of a 3star and its price, I think its a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly and attentive staff

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Stayed just the one night here, great spot on Hai Ba Trung, close to restaurants and city attractions. Small but comfortable rooms, good bathroom with stand alone shower, good choice of pay TV channels, easy check-in and check-out, staff were great, ordered drinks to the room which came quickly and corrected the order which was my fault in the first place. Small fitness room which is handy in such a small hotel, no pool, but rarely in HCMC will you find a city hotel with pool if it's under 4*. Great experience with no hassles.
2 out of 5
by Shyam from Singapore

Ants, Moths, Mosquitoes, Ants!

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Great location, especially for nightlife... good water pressure. Free WiFi worked. Staff was helpful. Price was slightly high for quality
Cons: Bug issue needs to be fixed. Room with window substantially nicer than room with blocked window due to light.
Location: In the heart of higher end nightlife in Saigon. Also near tourist sites and shopping. Not in backpacker district. Happy
My first room was located on the 4th floor, rear of the hotel, window opened to a cement wall. Room had moths, mosquitoes and ants, so I asked to switch to a new room. Moved up to the 7th floor, got a window with some light. Still had ants and mosquitoes. I exterminated the best I could and sucked it up. The rooms were small but otherwise fine, very dimly lit, but part of the style. Hotel spa was excellent... professional and reasonably priced. Good hot water and pressure. Lobby was filled with chain smokers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Washington, DC

Pleasant tourist class hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2013
I booked at the A & Em Hai Ba Trung based on price and location. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. Staff were welcoming and helpful -- always at least one English speaker around. I arrived early -- about 830 am and although my room wasn't ready, they did rush the cleaning and I was in my room within 45 minutes. Breakfast is good with an assortment of both Asian and western items -- and the Asian items and breakfast meats varied from day to day which is nice. Excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Australian

Centre of town

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Will stay again. Hotel was newly renovated, high ceilings, modern fit out. Staff was friendly. Located in the centre of all the action.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money hotel.

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Long time to cool the room.
Location: Visit nearby attractions and malls. Ben Than Market is within 10 mins taxi ride.
Overall a good for value hotel located within the business district and nearby attractions.
2 out of 5
by Clem from Shanghai

Run down

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Location is ok
Cons: Room not clean, floor broken...
Location: Near entertainment, very (too) busy road
This a&em needs refubishing. Dont wanna look on top of the closet... so dusty...