Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Checked out and went to a different hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Toilet tank leaked, bathroom floor wet throughout my stay. Good location, room was clean, housekeeping staff friendly and efficient but reception not so much. Solution to wet floor was not repair of tank but sent someone to mop when I complained twice. Entrance to hotel is a safety hazard; cramped, congested with motorbikes and difficult to enter/exit with suitcase.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by avasaigon2@yahoo.com, Hotel Management
Sorry to know you unhappy caused by my bad management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The staff- really helpful.
Cons: The room was looking a bit old.
The building is rather average but the staff were really good. The only place in Vietnam I have been where the staff are genuinely helpful when you asked for travel advice (and not trying to sell you tours etc). The place is just down the road from the bars and restaurants. The room was clean and in good condition. Another little nice thing was free laundry on your first day there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Beds were very hard. No hot water. Breakfast was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Tan (Mr.) - htel owner, Hotel Management
Sorry to know all bad thing caused by our hotel facilities. I apolozised you and try to fix it quikly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Great location for walkers

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Location and size of room and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Shops, restaurants, local life.
It's not in the heart of Ben Tanh market and area, but it's only 15 minutes walk away, and there are a lot of eateries and bars nearby to satiate the appetite. The customer service providers were good and helpful to the extent that is expected in general. The morning staff with all the women were probably more pleasing than the men in the afternoon - I don't know whether this was because of the lack of English, but the male receptionist in the afternoon seemed more interested in his phone than chatting with us. Not that this matters to me, I prefer it, but for anyone who likes to chit chat, this is for you. The size of the room was really good for our large suitcases, and it was always clean, with good TV channels. Breakfast was yum. A good choice of Western and Vietnamese.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Reasonable price
I am disappoint with cockroach in my room. Some staff has no smile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Walking distance to Ben Thanh Market

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location - quiet enough and yet close to where all the happenings are (shopping, dining, pubs, etc.) Cheap taxi fares to several places of interest.
Cons: Lots! Need an overhaul of rooms - Bathroom (in bad shape), Bar in wardrobe for hanging clothes is far too high, Water leaked from aircon in my room.
Location: Shop and dine in Ben Thanh Market. Try some good restaurants nearby. Visit places of interest like War Remnants Museum, Independence Palace, etc.
Requested for Airport transfer to Hotel. A lady met me at the Airport. She instructed driver to send me to hotel. I didn't understand their conversation in Vietnamese but noted that she mentioned a different hotel name. Showed her my Expedia hotel booking documents and repeated AVA Saigon 3 Hotel several times. But she insisted hotel had changed name due to change in ownership. Lady instructed driver to send me to hotel (of her choice) and left us! Upon arrival, driver left but hotel staff insisted that hotel had no record of my booking. Luckily, he was aware there was another AVA Saigon Hotel nearby, so he took me there. The AVA Saigon 2 Hotel called the sister hotel (the one I booked) to send someone to pick me up. I waited at the hotel lobby for about half an hour, no one showed up. Finally, they decided to send me to my hotel by cab. Afraid that I might not be able to communicate with the cab driver, AVA Saigon 2 sent a staff to travel with me. Finally, I arrived at the right hotel. The hotel staff apologised for the confusion. Throughout my ordeal, I was treated very well by staff in the first 2 hotels I was sent to. They did all they could to help me to get to the right hotel and also helped to carry my bags, making sure that I was comfortable. Many thanks to all of you! Another disappointment at AVA Saigon 3 - staff on duty said that the airport shuttle fee quoted is for one way and not round-trip, insisting that Expedia is wrong!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location, Comfort & Great service.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Ava 3 is small but comfortable hotel. It's walking distance to many places like Ben Thanh market, Vincom centre, backpacker areas and just far enough to noisy streets. I find the price is reasonable for the time we stay. Staff are friendly, great services and always available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Tan (Mr.) - Hotel owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your favor remarks. Hope to welcome you in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milton keynes

Fantastic location..

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Very friendly staff,clean rooms,clean sheets everyday,good breakfast,free wifi,air conditioning,plenty off hot water,fresh yowled every day,free safe,fridge,cable tv with english speak channels..very near to all the bars and restaurants..close to back packers paradise..local cheap street food..you also get free laundry service.. Well worth the price..can't go wrong..a little gem.. Don't tell too many people.. In my opinion it should be more expensive for what you get for your money.try it out for yourself.......................................................😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️😊😊😊😊😊😊😊☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️ 😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️😊😊😊😊😊☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️😉☺️😉☺️😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great central location

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Hotel staff were great, they were friendly and wanted to make sure we were happy right from the start. Great inclusions, loved the washing being done daily FOC, was a great surprise and a luxury. Breakfast and Iced Coffee's were awesome. Room slightly dated, aircon dripped and bathroom ceiling dripped a bit. But perfectly fine. Bed slightly hard for our liking. All and all pretty good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Amazing staff. Worth every dollar.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Even though it was a 3 star rating here I'd say the staff was 5 star. The lady reception during the day time helped to ease our check in. We're a big family of 7 travelling together this time and she assisted us in every way possible. Location is just a lane away from backpacker district where u see the hustle n bustle of the area. Not too close to the Pham Ngu Lao means u can enjoy ur sleep better without being disturbed. However, the hotel does look a little bit run down. One of our rooms got a lock which was 70% damaged hence it wasn't that safe. But I believe they would do something about it soon. Definitely worth every dollar paid.