Ratings based on 732 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia

Perfect Location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The hotels' character. something they don't have in modern hotels. The courtyard with the old frangipani trees in bloom.
Cons: Other guests need to be mindful that there are other people staying in the hotel and not leave their doors open and allow their children to run around
Location: Excellent location, across from Opera House and high end shopping district
Stayed at Ho Chi Minh's oldest hotel for 2 nights when we arrived in Vietnam. Have never stayed before and wanted to experience one of the city's original colonial hotels. Was not disappointed. The best part of the stay was enjoying breakfast in the flowing courtyard in the centre of the hotel, with the beautiful surrounds. The hotel is also very close to the Cathedral, Vincom shopping centre, The Opera House and many great restaurants and cafes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Nice hotel and location but not the best staff

Posted Mar 13, 2017
I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel itself is very nice and in a very central location. Many of the popular sights are within a short walk. The rooms are large and very nice. My only real complaint is the staff seemed very unfriendly and indifferent to helping guests. It was like pulling teeth to get assistance sometimes. Considering there are other similar hotels in the area that are close in price, I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could be amazing

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The hotel building is stunning, lots of history and the location great. For hotel in middle of district 1 in HCMC the noise was no issue.... .... this could be an amazing place to stay.... ....BUT the hotel management need to really train their people better. With the exception of the staff at breakfast (in particular the "egg" Chef) the staff were rude, unresponsive and unhelpful... in particular the front desk team. Also the hotel interior needs sprucing up; it is starting to feel quite old (and not in a good way!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, disappointing travel office experience

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Hotel Tour operator
Location: Xx
Historical value, excellent location, sumptuous breakfast, comfortable outside terrace Disappointing and expensive trip to Cu Chi tunnels with an old beat up tour van and poorly English speaking tour guide. Book this trip from a travel agent outside the hotel for half the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Excellent Hotel in center of city

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Variety foods for Breakfast Buffet. Yummy and Delicious. Vietnamese Coffee is the best and tasty.
Cons: No comment.
Location: Center of City. Shopping, Restaurants, A lot of attraction for visitors.
'Great food, Nice Staff, Clean and huge comfort room on the top level with city view able to see the world go by. Near to Opera House, Shopping Center, Especially close to Nguyen Hue Street where "Tet" Floral Festival and tourists gather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

This hotel has a lot of elegant history

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The feeling of the history you get from this hotel
Cons: Attention to detail when cleaning the bathrooms, needed some tiltex
Location: Location is perfect, center of Saigon, close to everything
Great service from staff. Breakfast buffet every day has western and Vietnamese foods. Room very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Heritage hotel in good location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful second room. Fantastic courtyard to enjoy your breakfast buffet in. Free of charge luggage store
Cons: My first room only had a shower above the bath. Also, some of the electrical plug sockets didn't work.
Location: Across the room from the opera house. In the middle of some very expenses designer shops.
I stayed at the hotel on two separate occasions in January 2017. First time the room was above their restaurant on first floor while wedding was going on...pretty loud music and the bath wasn't the best 3.5/5 Second stay was on the second floor and had an amazing room 5/5 The hotel looked after my suitcase (no charge) in their secured luggage store while I traveled the country for 2 weeks. very helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The location and also close proximity to the airport- 25 minutes by car.
Cons: The cleaning cart and other equipment is permanently stored in the corridor just outside the rooms and near the lifts. Not a pleasant site.
Location: Explore the city on foot. Plenty of shopping, high end and markets. Lots of cafes and restaurants nearby.
Enjoyed our 2 night stay. Comfortable room, staff were very courteous. Location is superb, as easy access to sights in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Grand Hotel!

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Every morning at 5:15am, the splendid sidewalks of the Hotel Continental Saigon are steam-cleaned by a meticulous staff member, helping to maintain the impression of a magnificent and historic landmark. This effort demonstrates the staff’s dedication to making sure every aspect of the hotel is at its best for guests to enjoy. Indeed, every staff member I met was knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. A highpoint of the day was sitting in the lovely garden for breakfast, featuring trees planted in 1880, and an atmosphere that was ideal for reflecting on the hotel’s captivating style and place in world history. My deluxe suite was big enough to entertain 30 friends! Finally, the location is fantastic, within walking distance of Ho Chi Minh Square, Notre Dame Cathedral, Fine Arts Museum, Reunification Palace, and much more. I had a wonderful and memorable stay. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seeped in history...

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, seeped in history. Incredible location. Came down for breakfast on Sun morning to find amazing concert happening on steps of Opera House just outside hotel main entrance!!