Ratings based on 1,447 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Wonderful District 1 hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
A gem in a superb location in District 1. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see, the furthest being the War Remnants Museum. Fabulous breakfast served daily on the rooftop restaurant overlooking the river. Only negative - the lighting in the room was a little dark. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location nice view

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Good location in Saigon river, feel very comfortable at rooftop breakfast. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Phenomenal rooftop breakfasts

Posted Jan 12, 2017
A lovely old 'Grand Dame' of the Ho Chi Minh City hotel scene, the Majestic Is located at the very end of the city's main drag right by the banks of the river and within walking distance- or a short hop by inexpensive taxi - from all major tourist sights. A highlight for me, a Graham Greene aficionado, was having breakfast each morning in the open air rooftop bar where Mr Greene often took his evening cocktails. A constantly changing and delicious selection of pan-Asian and European dishes is featured including prepared to order noodle dishes, fritters, etc . The Majestic has been gently modernised much more invitingly than Greene's favoured Continental Hotel where he liked tof stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, US

Nice hotel with the best Customer Relation team

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Thanks so much for the warm welcome provided to me from the best Customer Relation team at Majestic hotel , especially Ms. My Hanh. Really appreciated it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

Classic old hotel struggling to modernize

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Good location, attractive interior, great service from the staff, excellent extensive breakfast buffet
Cons: Wi-fi very slow. Hallway had a bad smell occasionally. Lengthy construction project needs completion. Smelly cigarette smokers at breakfast buffet.
Location: Several excellent museums within a short taxi ride. Don't miss the Museum of Traditional Vietnamese Medicine!
The Majestic dates to 1925 and is a great old classic. On the positive side, it's a beautiful interior, the breakfast buffet is extensive and excellent, the bathroom amenities are high quality, the bed was very comfortable and large, hand the staff are friendly and attentive. On the negative side, the rooms are on the small side for a 5-star hotel, the wi-fi is really slow, and the hallways had an odd smell on a few occasions, as if the kitchen was venting into the hallways. The hotel is undergoing major construction/renovation, and two of the restaurants were closed, and some construction noise was evidence during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Nice stay with a helpful and friendly staff who do their best to make you happy and they are always smiling. I love the location and the room was large and clean with a comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel for those who like nostalgic feel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location and service staffs
Cons: Hotel can do alot of upgrades as the facilities and room are pretty old. New curtains maybe, change of equipments etc.
Location: Great location for me as most of the tourist spots which I went are within 0.5km-3km radius.
Great hotel at good location. Stayed in the colonial suite and the room is of very good size and layout. However, the room is out-dated and has an old feel and smell to it. Hotel staff provided air fresheners and apologised for the experience and offered complimentary cocktail vouchers. The bar located at the top of their hotel provides great live music and superb view of Ho Chi Min city in the night. The hotel facilities are old and dated especially the gym. Breakfast there was ok with reasonable spread of dishes. Last breakfast was not too good though as the miso soup was totally tasteless and when I informed the service staff.. he nodded, smiled and walked away.. i guess he did not really get what i mean in english. Good hotel location as I walked to most of the tourist destination from hotel as most of them at within 0.5-3km distance. Surrounding of the hotel has got many smaller restaurants and shop which works well for me. Overrall - Good hotel but out-dated, great location, good customer service for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Grand Majestic

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
The pool area is great. The lovely old world charm was exactly what we were looking for. The bed however was hard in room 310 The bathroom was huge. The staff all excellent. The seafood buffet was amazing (level 5) The breakfast also very good. M bar at night...great night views Loved the Majestic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Japan

Old, but not bad

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Generally speaking all facilities are obviously old. In particular gym facilities should be renewed as soon as possible.
Location: Best location. Just beside the river and Main Street. Taxi drivers regard this hotel as a landmark of Saigon. Easy access by taxi,
Impressed by the great quality of breakfast. Further to usual coffee or tea, you can ask Vietnam coffee, this is a must try.