Ratings based on 1,284 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great hotel in excellent location.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The Rex hotel is a very well located hotel, with all amenities we were looking for close by .... market, corner stores, eateries, Starbucks. The check-in/check-out processes were efficient and quick. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt very safe in this area and enjoyed exploring the square. The buffet breakfast was absolutely amazing. The only downside was that the drinks at the rooftop bar were quite expensive compared to other bars we visited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Absolutely charming

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: A well equipped gym. The staff always very helpful. The bed was really comfortable. The layout is a bit unusual but it's an older building - character
Cons: They may need to do more regular maintenance on the elevators?
Location: Fabulous location and a short walk to historic buildings and places to go shopping. Not a great kids hotel - pool very small
A weekend visit to Ho Chi Minh and I opted for a more historic hotel option, and really glad I did. I was upgraded on arrival to a suite which was a nice surprise! No better way to spend an evening than with a cocktail at the Rooftop Bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel centre of District 1 friendly staff

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very good service, it happened to be my birthday they brought me a slice of cake during breakfast and a whole cake was left in my room. Overall a fantastic experience have stayed here on 5 occassions and will continue to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johor Bahru

nice hotel with good location.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: buffet breakfast choice is very limited. not much choice
Location: shopping, massage and nearby to sightseeing in the city.
very quick check in, nice staff, comfortable room and very convenient location. Overall is very nice experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton UK

HCMC Short City Stay

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Central, plush and clean. Internet connection.
Cons: There was NEVER anyone eating in the restaurant whenever we walked by - maybe it needs to lower prices there?
Location: Shopping mall (Saigon) and other shopping strips. Post Office, Cathedral and other touristy sights within walking distance.
The hotel is very central - there are lots of walkable eateries and shops, as well as the touristy places (Post Office, Market, Cathedral, Fine Art Museum etc). The room we had was a 'suite' with mini lounge and an extra toilet. It was very comfortable - the bed was HUGE with a couple of hard pillows and a couple of feather soft pillows (just gorgeous). We slept very soundly. The room we had was at the back of the hotel - we did hear that those at the front had broken sleep from all the hustle and bustle commotion going on out the front along the main precinct - it was Chinese New Year so there were lots of "processional-type" music and general carry on, with a stage and speakers set up. I shouldnt imagine it is normally like this. The shower and bathroom were great, enough English TV channels to be happy for the brief stay. Breakfast was nice - a decent spread (comprising of continental, cereal, traditional english breakfast, an egg station, local/asian foods and a station for 'Pho' - a vietnamese healthy noodle soup dish full of herbs, try it it's scrummy!). The staff = very polite and helpful. It was a very relaxing stay with no issues. There are two pools - one on the 5th floor (a family pool) and a slightly larger pool on the 6th floor/roof. Did not have dinner/lunch/room service at the hotel - as found that it was quite expensive and there were lots of cheaper alternatives on the doorstep. Internet was very good in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

excellent location. close to everything.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: facilities
Location: everything
The hotel is old style. The facilities are quite old. It's comfortable but don't expect any luxury. The swimming pool is very small. The water puppet show was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
There is construction next door, so we asked to be moved to a quieter room which the staff quickly allowed. the location is perfect, the staff friendly and efficient. Recommend any room in hte Wes wing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

Great hotel at great location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location, food and afcilities
Location: Within walking distance for all of the city center's amenities.
Very clean comfortable room with great food, great atmosphere together with centrally located location makes this a an excellent choice for a vacation stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel in the city.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: No complaints but nothing spectacular.
Cons: The staff can appear more approachable.
Location: Good location, but busy traffic.
Experience was neutral. What one would expect of a 5-star hotel in the city -- clean but small room; considering we are a family of four (2A2C) staying in the Executive Premium room. We also requested for a rollaway bed. The staff are not as approachable and friendly -- some appearing to be rather aloof (reception/concierge).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Rooms and Breakfast lavish

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: location, rooms and breakfast
Cons: not much
Location: Ban Then market and most things are close by
We were in the Governor suite and the service was amazing, except for one bit, where in we arrived early and the guy at reception desk seemed disinterested in his job or was just not aware of 'service with a smile'. He kept giving one word answers and walking away. Anyway apart from that we then had a private check in service and the other staff were exceptional! the rooms were impeccable and the rest of our stay was memorable. Breakfast choices are lavish and massages at the spa were amazing! Location is central so you can pretty much walk everywhere. you know the hotel is good... John Kerry U.S secretary of state stayed here earlier in 2016.