Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel would overly sell room to earn the little profile in between by making us go elsewhere to stay. so please beware, friends
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel!

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LISMORE, AUSTRALIA

iT WAS OKAY

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: BIG LOBBY AREA, ENGLISH SPECKING RECEPTION STAFF,
Cons: LIGHTING IN THE ROOM, SOUND PROOF NESS SHOULD BE IMPROVED
Location: THE CENTRAL ACTION AREA NEARBY ABOUT 10 MIN TO TOWN CANNOT WALK. TAXI COST ABOUT 30,000 VD OR $1.5
NO BED SIDE TABLE OR READING LIGHTS, SHOWER BATHROOM GOOD ENOUGH, I THOUGHT WINDOW WOULD BE BETTER. BUT IT BECAME A PROBLEM DUE TO ROAD NOICE
4 out of 5
by Thi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Abby Dean from Morrinsville, New Zealand

good location, clean hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Cons: My least favourite thing about this hotel was the massage
Location: About 20 minute walk to bars and cafe quite central
Nice and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast wasnt anything exciting would reccomend finding a cafe. Also think twice before getting the full body massage i found the girl very rough, was not enjoyable. My upper back and sore for couple days afterwards. Great hotel though and easy to get around. About a 20 minute walk to bars and cafes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is lame

Posted Feb 12, 2012 on Hotels
This Hotel is lame. Ok the rooms are clean and look nice, so do the lobby and one could say the staff, but they hardly speak any English. The neighborhood is to cry about, right in by an intersection of to streets with massive trafic, so quite some noise, hard to get a decent meal around there. First thing I did at the room was looking for a way to get less trafic noise, I located the window in the bathroom as a source, but closing it was another story. The little window in the bathroom where btw the only one faceing out, the room had another faceing the corridor - and a very sharp lightball right outside - why? The safe in the room is a little box you can take under your arm and leave with, very safe yes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excited to stay there again

Posted Nov 9, 2011
Location: If you're a traveler and not a tourist, then I'd definitely recommend Cho Lon and Cho An Dong. These are working wholesale markets and not as frequently visited by tourists. The vendors are running wholesale companies so they don't need the business the same way that the vendors at cho Ben Thanh need it. They're very straight forward and give you the price they want. Minimal haggling...but they will give you a discount if you buy more than one of anything. If you're into sight seeing the Re-unification building is of course a must. It represents a very pivotal point in Vietnam's history. I had to see it mostly because it played a major role in my family's past. Most of all, don't be afraid to explore the city. There are taxis everywhere but make sure you have the address to your hotel handy. Not everyone speaks English but all the cab drivers will be able to find the address of the hotel if written out for them.
I'd most definitely stay at this hotel again. It isn't off the beaten track per se but it isn't in the heart of the tourist area either...that suits me fine. It is less than 2km from Ben Thanh market and not far from most other attractions. The reason I liked this hotel is that you can step out the front and just walk in any direction and be surrounded by Vietnamese city living. The fruit and fish market is literally around the corner of Nguyen Van Cu. The food vendors down the street are great and friendly. The best part, the prices are fair to the area. The vendors know they're not catering to tourists so they price things to local fares not the over priced rates in the tourist area. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and diligent to make my stay comfortable.The night manager was extremely helpful with information since my plane was delayed 2 hours and I got into Saigon at 1AM. He told me where I could locate some food and made sure that I had a card with the hotel name and location so that I could find my way back with a taxi. It isn't the nicest place in Saigon but for that you'd be paying significantly more. It was however a great comfortable room with a great staff. I'd have no reservations what so ever about staying there again. Close to Cho Lon, Cho An Dong and Cho Dan Sinh as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Baytown Texas

A Very Happy Traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2011
We stayed at the Universal Hotel for a little over two weeks. They were very helpful and the breakfast was wonderful ! The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk to the market, or a five minute taxi drive( about $2.00) We could have not asked for a better hotel. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a nice , clean and comfortable hotel reasonably priced. If we go back we will stay here again!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philippines

clean, but a little secluded

Posted May 20, 2011 on Hotels
the room is clean and big, and their manager is very nice and accommodating. though it was very very hard to communicate with some of the receptionists because of their poor knowledge of the English language. it is in District 1, but not so close to the best spots to go to in the said District. there are not much to see around the vicinity, but it's just a 15-min drive to Ben Thanh Market, which is good.