Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location is great.
Cons: Rooms need complete refurbishing.
The staff was very friendly and polished. However, after viewing photos on Expedia, actual experience was very disappointing. Room was dark and dingy even with all of the lights on. This was due to room being situated against courtyard and receiving minimal natural light combined with insufficient interior lighting. Surfaces like floors, walls and desk showed signs of excessive wear and tear. Walls had chunks of plaster missing from chairs or suitcases colliding. The room was also extremely tight even for a single person. No good area to open a suitcase. The bathroom also showed signs of wear. Heavy lime deposits in shower. Wear and tear of surfaces. And mild sewage odor in toilet stall. In short, this was ranked on Expedia as a 5 star property, but it felt like a 3 star property. Especially because right across the street, The Metropole, also managed by Sofitel and infinitely superior in every respect, is also a 5 star. These two properties are in no way of the same caliber, yet they share the same 5 star ranking on Expedia. This is misleading. This hotel is fine if you're expecting a 3 star hotel. But if you are expecting more or you expect it to look as clean as its photos, you will be disappointed. Luckily there was still room at The Metropole.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jakarta, indonesia

Great location, fabulous service

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Hotel is close to the historic Opera and easy walking distance to lake and old town. Although booked through Expedia, we were upgraded to a small suite with roof balcony. Lavish decoration in room and facilities great (maybe more storage for clothes would help). Hotel staff were instantly accommodating. When I left the don't disturb sign on the room returning at 8.30pm, they were up within 10 minutes to clean the room. When the AC didn't work at breakfast they brought a fan to cool things down within 5 minutes. Also the complementary drinks in the lounge (that came with the suite) were great. Overall was a wonderful start to our holiday. Not everything went well, but they quickly addressed issues. To me, that's the real test of top quality hotels. Definitely would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Stylish and unique hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel is very Central and has a genuinely unique (elegant) style. It's great that everything has been thought out to be memorable. The staff were also truly awesome - always helpful, quick and knowledge. We also ordered room service good one evening and that was remarkably good. Highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Lovely touch of luxury

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Great location in old quarter and a nice touch of luxury in a very hot Hanoi! The pool and gym are great little facilities and the room was really comfortable. My only quibble is that our room (105) was near what appeared to be the staff entrance so there was a bit of noise very early in the morning. The staff were great - friendly and helpful and gave us some great suggestions for dinners and places to see. All in all, highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Janine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by John

Pluses

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Got the highest floor; no street noise to distract me from my slumber. The design is such that the dressing and bathroom is semi-partition off from the main room area, so while it's suppose to be 32sqm, it doesn't give that feel. Room is a little dark due to the dark coloured ceiling (wallpaper?). Nevertheless, it's a comfortable room. Bed is a little soft, but luxurious enough. There is a place card in the room informing that the hotel is able to provide 7 types of pillows to suit one's preference. Just need to call the recep. But I did not change mine. On hindsight, I should have tried some of the variants. Toiletries and all the goodies are provided. Air-condition is crazily cold, even when the temperature is set to the highest. One negative is that it has wood flooring and some of the slabs are loose. It creaks when step upon. And Wifi connection is not exactly the best. Did not try the restaurant but tried the bar. So-so only. The hotel is within walking distance to the old quarter. Would I stay in this hotel again? Probably.
5 out of 5
by Lisa-Marie

Perfect!

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed 3D/2N. Beautiful hotel. Lovely rooms (the bed is just to die for). The location is perfect! Located in the French Quarters, it is walking distance to the Old Quarters / Hoan Kiemand, and yet far from the chaos. The breakfast buffet is also just right, not too overwhelming but enough variety. What can we say...PERFECT!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hanoi - Paris in Asia

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel de l'Opera is very centrally and ideally located in the beautiful city of Hanoi. It is close to the lake, cafes and restaurants, and conveniences expected as a tourist. We were able to walk from the hotel to all the interesting sites and beautiful streets of Hanoi. Even at night we felt very safe. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Lux Hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
A perfect location in the heart of the city. The hotel is very clean, great wifi, priced well and super easy to find.
4 out of 5
by Sunil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels