Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great stay at the Legend Metropole hotel. Everything is perfect. I am usually very demanding and to be honest there is nothing to complain about. One of the best hotel I have ever seen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

The best hotel in Hanoi

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: The pool, the restaurant and the rooms in the old wing.
Cons: the aircon in the room, doesn't work properly
This hotel has the charm of its age , it was built in 1901 and you can still feel the history throughout the hotel. I enjoyed the pool and the jazz bar at night. Staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommended if you want to pamper yourelf once in Hanoi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The cream de la cream!!! The BEST!!!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great location. Great place. The breakfast is epic! Some of the boy staff in black suite are a bit snobby but otherwise I give it 9.8!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Fantastic service and great location and the buildings have an history. I recommend the historical visit that includes a visit of the bunker. It starts at 5pm everyday but you need to book as it is limited to 12 pers. The only negative comment is that the swimming pool is a bit small and exposed as it is very close to the terrasse. Otherwise, I recommend the hotel to everyone without any hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Iconic hotel with famous historical background

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Everything a great experience from accommodation staff and dining and well located .
Cons: Maybe a night light for the bathroom in historic wing
Location: Great location easy to reach shopping and dining at all budgets .Lovely French style boulevards and near the lake .
Enjoyed our stay at this historical hotel which has preserved its original rooms with additional comforts .The newer wing although more luxurious and spacious could be found anywhere , but for us the historic wing was an experience we treasured with perks of the club facilities an additional bonus.Staff all very attentive and helpful .Would gladly stay here again if ever we travel to Hanoi .Local eateries close by and at various budgets .Local cyclo rides arranged by the hotel a great fun experience.Unfortunately the Citroen cars were not functioning due to age and weather !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Iconic Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The staff are exceptional. We were in the new wing of the hotel in room 375 that faced a small garden. It is away from the street and so very quiet. The hotel is located in the French Quarter and only a short walking distance to the busy Old Quarter. We visited the hotel lounge on three occasions for cocktails and desert, we very much enjoyed the atmosphere of it. We also ate at all three restaurants of the hotel. They were all very good but expect to pay "Western" prices. Overall, a great experience at this hotel and would happily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wow what a great hotel and staff!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Everything.....history, rooms, food.
Cons: Vegetarian options
Location: Walk around to French side of Hanoi, lake , Old Quater........
Staff, food , room, history of hotel is what makes this hotel best in Asia. Take a walk around to see great French architecture....Uber to anywhere so cheap. AC is fantastic for hot weather....coming back again and this is my fav. hotel now in Hanoi. Stay ONLY is old building avoid Opera side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Best location, excellent staff, historic hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Our second time to stay at the Sofitel Metropole, both times were flawless. The staffing is very friendly and helpful. Love the location for walking around lake and to old city streets. Pool and Bamboo Bar are great retreats from the Hanoi heat.
5 out of 5
by Viviana

Great heritage hotel in Hanoi

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and incredible colonial style building. The only negative thing was that, I believe, we were supposed to have lounge access as part of our booking but it end up been outside our booking. Perfect choice to really experience Hanoi and its heritage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Wonderful Hotel in French Area close by Hoan Kiem

Posted Apr 25, 2017
A trip for a long weekend turned out wonderfully, in more modern Opera Wing with access to Executive Club, just soo relaxing and a great retreat from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi and it's never ending traffic.