Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient & comfortable hotel at affordable price

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Convenient & comfortable hotel at affordable price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Room is spacious but sofa and carpet need thorough vacuum to remove hair, dust and dirt. Nosiy lift renovations on going till February 2017. No in room safe. Good recycling bin in room. No amenities in hotel. Expensive rates for outdated hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite central to places

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Lovely room and en suit
Location: Mona new and old art well worth a visit at least 4 hours there
Not to far from anywhere, easy to walk to places,parks worth visiting too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel is located near the waterfront and is handy for restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from King's Lynn, U.K.

Good hotel on outskirts of city.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Hotel looks dated, but once inside it's up to date. Good size room, kept clean, efficient air-con. Convenient for city and airport. Kitchen being refurbished, so they gave a $5 limited breakfast which was great for the price. Overall, would recommend and stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Close to everything

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing not to like
Location: Its basically in the centre of hobart, walking distance to shopping, salamanca market, wharf, restaurant strip, You don't need to look for parking,
Second time we stayed at this hotel and once again the service the clean decent size room, the restaurant, staff and location did not disappoint us. I will be returning often to tasmania and this is were Ill be staying more often, its perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good location!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Close to city centre
Cons: Carpark was a little small, hard to maneouver with a large vehicle
Location: Close to city centre, an easy 10 minute walk. Overlooks the University Rose Gardens
Room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly. A few areas were under construction but did not disrupt our stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel with wonderful service

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Quiet, convenient location. Free parking. Reasonably priced breakfast and in-room minibar. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: The foyer and lift area is currently being upgraded to include an additional lift, which is much needed! Additional parking spots would also be good.
Location: The hotel is on the fringe of the CBD, very near the hospital and opposite a large traffic roundabout but is still quiet and conveniently located.
We booked this hotel after reading positive guest reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was spacious and quiet and had a pleasant view over the university rose garden and the Domain. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and greeted us each time we entered the hotel. The buffet breakfast is particularly good value: beginning the day with breakfast in the sunny breakfast room was a great start to a day's touring, especially as there are not too many places to eat breakfast nearby. The hotel is, however, an easy walk from the harbour with its fish restaurants and from Salamanca Place with its cafes and eateries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle NSW

Great Hotel, walk to everything.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Would highly recommend Fountainside Hotel. Staff friendly and extremely helpful. Room was spacious, comfortable and had a fantastic view. Restaurant was excellent with great food and reasonable prices. Within walking distance to all amenities including restaurants, cafes, shops, waterfront and markets. My husband and i had a wonderful time and will definitely be returning again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne.

Fantastic value & location

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Location, price and room size and cleanliness. Parking is a bonus if you have a car - which we did.
Location: Close to most everything you would want as a tourist in Hobart.
Fantastic location and helpful staff, coupled with free parking and a clean and spacious room, this is everything you can really want in a well priced hotel. You could get picky and want a few upgrades on the decor, etc. but truthfully I don't care what the carpet in the hallways looks like, and if I did, I would go and stay at a 5 star hotel.