Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Aus

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Hotel staff great, room comfortable and clean. Only thing I could say I didn't like was the shower. Water flow average and temp up and down while in it. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sterling, United States of America

A pleasant stay

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Location in Hobart, and the character of the hotel is definitely on par with the old stately hotels.
Cons: Infrastructure may be hard to change until the next major renovation, but the bathrooms could use vents/fans, and an extra elevator would be handy.
Location: You'd be better off making adv reservations at most restaurants nearby. We didn't and wish we had, even on a Thurs night. Nearby shopping is great.
I wasn't aware of the history behind Hadley's when I booked here, and I feel lucky to have stumbled upon such a lovely hotel with such character. Hadley's has been a Hobart fixture for a very long time but has enjoyed a relatively recent renovation such that you won't be missing any modern conveniences. Wifi signal was nice and strong in the room, even though it was on the opposite side of the building from the main entrance. The bed was very comfortable, and I enjoyed the little newsletter left after the turndown service. The room walls/doors don't block as much sound but it wasn't a factor at night. Our neighbors were very quiet. We did hear hallway conversations pretty clearly during non-quiet hours. The staff were wonderful, helpful and attentive. Parking with in/out privileges is available in a garage around the corner, and it's secured after-hours. Park in the loading zone out front or a 15 min metered space and get a garage keycard from the front desk. We were only in Hobart for 1 night but would have liked to have stayed longer. I found Hadley's to be a very good value for the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, cost, and staff.
Very pleasant :) I wish someone had told us about the comfortable pillows before the last night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Sophie, Hotel Management
Thanks for your lovely review after your recent stay. Sorry you missed the information on the comfy pillows, this can be found in your welcome letter on arrival along with information provided when we offer guest turn-down service. A good reason to return! Warm regards, Sophie
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Central, well appointed boutique hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Fantastic bed and pillows, customised to suit individual requirements.Lovely organic toiletries replenished daily.Very comfortable room.
Cons: Found the taped music in the dining area way too loud and needed to ask for it to be turned down, somewhat intrusive.
Location: Central location, a 10 minute walk to Salamanca and wharf area and an easy walk into the city shopping area.
Most comfortable experience and good value for money mid week. Luxury furnishings and fittings with comfortable lounge area. Would have liked to have had the afternoon tea but unfortunately it was not on during my stay, selected days only. Pleasant and helpful staff, especially the bed turndown service. Would return again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Sophie, Hotel Management
Dear Melinda, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and leave a wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed the charm of our old style accommodation where no comfort is left compromised with bedding, pillows and bathroom products all chosen with our guests interests at heart. Thanks for your comments re the music and we are sorry to hear you found this to be on the loud side during your time with us. We will be sure to investigate this to ensure maximum guest comfort in the future when dining or enjoyed a drink with us int he Orient Bar. Our Afternoon Tea as you mention is only offered Wednesday's to Sunday's, we would love to welcome you again to experience this offering with us. Safe travels and again thanks for your kind words. Warm regards, Sophie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Stylish Victoriana

Posted Aug 23, 2016
I loved this hotel. Really lovely interiors and fabulous location. This would have to have been the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. It was like a cuddle (I can't describe it any other way).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Bar and dining area have charm
Cons: No Foxtel!!!!!
Location: Centrally located.
Charming old world hotel. For me and Foxtel in this day and age is a game breaker though. Staff were excellent across the board
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little gem

Posted Jul 31, 2016
It's a classy hotel and I like the Victorian charm and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Anita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Melbourne, Victoria

Classic Hobart Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, classic hotel, friendly staff, made you think you were in Hobart of the 1900's, perfect hotel for a couple, none of the sameness of normal major chain hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sophie, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thanks for your lovely review after your recent stay with us. Pleased you found our friendly team and heritage style property made for an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you again. Warm regards, Sophie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

double charge on room

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Wotif
This is a nice hotel, but then it all went downhill when we found out they charged us 2 times and was told it takes 10 days to refund