Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Comfortable for a longer stay

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Location, space, room service, two TVs, bed
Cons: Bathroom storage (shower shelf & more around the basin), shower pressure, pillows, include parking & wifi in room rate.
Location: Great location, close to everything, including Salmanca Markets 10min walk away.
We spent 4 nights at the Mantra Collins for a 4-day weekend in Hobart. We had a one bedroom apartment which was great with the extra space that comes with the combined kitchen, living & dining space. Two TVs was also great (it was the RWC final that weekend). A great view over some of the mountains and close to everything - 5-10min walk to some great restaurants, Salamanca Markets & all the other goings along around that space. If you hire a car, its close to get from the hotel to just about anything. The room was perfectly compact but spacious & well worth avoiding a typical studio hotel room. Bed was super comfortable. Pillows no so much (mostly feather pillows). Room service was great - the breakfasts we ordered were delivered quickly and not your standard boring hotel breakfast fare - I had the smashed avocado with fetta & lemon on sourdough. The shower pressure/water volume was pretty poor - often going hot and cold through the shower. My only other issue is the lack of general storage in the bathroom for two people - tiny soap shelf and nothing else in the shower, not enough bench space aside the basin for all the things girls need! Parking wasn't included in our room price, the parking was adjacent and a cap of $15/day. Wifi wasn't included either - we purchased $20 for 3 days & 3 devices. Worth noting there is no gym at the hotel & they do have a relationship with another gym close by, but with limited open hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, NSW

Great location, near the harbour.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Easy walk from the Mantra to the Harbour, Salamanca Markets, and the pubs nearby. Easy parking in the street or the multi storey carpark behind. Our room was a bit small and we looked at the carpark. But there is so much to do in Hobart, we were'nt in our room much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good quality hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Small things were disappointing eg had to ask for gowns slippers and soap ....toilet fan did not work Staff all very nice especially lass in breakfast facility Erla (I think) thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

How far to the hotel shuttle?

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Large bedroom with great view of Derwent, terrific design use of space, efficient pleasant front desk staff.
Cons: Hotel drop-off, pick-up.
Location: Close to hospital, very close to many take-away outlets and Woolworths. Easy walk to docks and fish restaurants, ferry to MONA, Hobart's main shops.
Lovely service, nice room, M-F room service good, minimal to worthless on weekend. Directly opposite Hobart Hospital who empty their trash at 4am. If you want to use the ONLY Hobart hotel airport shuttle service, despite existing parking spaces at the front of the hotel, the official drop-off pick-up point is two blocks away. Surely a chain a big as Mantra should be able to negotiate to improve this facility?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, convenient, friendly

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, good bed, good bathroom.
Location: A short walk from the harbour, Salamanca Place, the art gallery, Elizabeth St Mall. Excellent restaurants and cafes only minutes away.
Met by friendly staff on arrival. Check in was straightforward. The room was warm and we didn't quite get the airconditioning properly adjusted, but it had a good bathroom and the bed was comfortable. We were in town to go to MONA and to the wineries around Richmond. The hotel is a short walk from the MONA ferry pier, and close to car hire operators. It is surrounded by excellent restaurants and cafes. It offers good value for money. The location is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Spacious and clean rooms with friendly hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodend Victoria

Excellent hotel would stay again.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Our stay was excellent, staff were friendly & happy to help with any request The only negative is the added cost of parking, initially we were not told that our parking ticket could be validated at the hotel to give us a discount so paid full price. Our friends stayed at another hotel with the same type of parking arrangement however there parking was free. We eventually found all day parking about a block away that was $9.00 but overall the hotel and staff was excellent, well located would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, SA

Comfortable

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Room and furnishings excellent. Friendly and accommodating staff. Only negative was no free wifi and the carpark is not within the building itself (i expected to pay for parking either way given its central location). One has to walk out of the lobby to the carpark next door and take the lift to the 7th floor or higher. Other than that, loved the stay. Its just opposite the royal hobart hospital for clinicians visiting. And wonderful coffee just around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Nice room, quiet location close to main restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Cons: free wifi and free car park for guests
pleasant comfortable hotel and staff, well located however no free wifi access and no free car park for guests