Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice hotel. Still undergoing renovations

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Our overall experience was very good. One party in our group had a recently renovated room which was excellent. Our room was spacious and very comfortable but the decor was a bit dated. Once the hotel has completed renovations it will be excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ballarat

Quality affordable well located hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Cons: The pool temperature was a little cool maybe.
I enjoyed my stay at Rydges Hobart. It was peaceful, clean and comfortable. The dining room was a very pleasant experience. Well situated, within easy driving distance to most of hobarts attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old and tired in need of refurb

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Cons: Needs refurb which is to occur very old and tired, staff were great and helpful. Room needs a good clean, to too small for room.
Location: Hobart lots to see and do, much history, markets and shops great.
Room historical, but no info about building or what is planned in refurb,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was a very pleasant and nice hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Location is well placed
amenities and room were very good nice room and nice hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good for a family, old facilities need updating

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Size and layout of room.
Cons: Poor lighting and signage.
Location: Close to North Hobart restaurants.
Good: good sized, clean room, perfect for couple and 2 little kids, a good-sized bathroom with bath between the two bedrooms. Small kitchenette was fine. Friendly, helpful staff and plenty of free parking. Heater warmed the place well. Close to North Hobart eat street (Elizabeth St), not too far from city centre. Management given advance notice that restaurant would be unavailable one night and there was a note in the room acknowledging the out-of-date facilities and advising of updating in the near future. Room serviced well, daily. Not-so-good : We stayed on the top floor in the rear section of the hotel - we arrived after dark in the rain and there is no signage to direct guests to rooms from the rear parking area near the pool. The directions from staff were a bit vague and it was hard to find our room initially - not fun with 2 tired kids. Also, lighting was very poor and there are no markings around the steps from the path by the pool to the path leading to the rooms. It was difficult to navigate the steps with a suitcase and child in dark and rain - both of us almost tripped. Similarly, the pathways were uneven and the stairs to the top floor were poorly lit - a real hazard. No microwave as promised on the website. Stained saucers. The heater was an old, long, electric (oil?) heater at leg height - potential hazard for littlies. King bed mattresses (i.e. 2 king singles together) was a bit lumpy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burnie, tas

Very close to the city but quiet

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
This was my 4th stay at rydges hobart. Staff are always very helpful and room was very large, they had extra things in the mini bar selection from other hotels but everything needed to be replaced as it was dirty and handled by alot people. The room had a magnificient view of the footy grounds, city and the derwent river. The rooms are quite close to the city but as i am a light sleeper, perfect as you couldnt hear traffic noises from the room. Overall a really good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Grant Melville, Hotel Management
Dear Vee, Thanks for the lovely review. Great to hear you had a fantastic nights sleep....I am a light sleeper also and know this can be tough at some hotels. Warmest Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
Great Place to stay and the price was great and the breakfast is well worth it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Grant Melville, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Sounds like your experience was on the money which is great news. Hopefully we'll see you back at some point in the future. Warmest Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Wotif
I enjoyed my stay at Rydges, although the hotel is farther from the city than some other hotels. The old buildings (built in 1914, I believe) were beautiful. I was able to catch a bus from Elizabeth Street nearby into and back from the city. The room itself was large and would easily have accommodated two. It was warm, clean, and cosy. The kitchenette was quite dated, but I hadn't expected a kitchenette at all, so I didn't mind. I would gladly stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Nice hotel away from noise

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Location, price, friendly staff
Cons: Perhaps staff knowledge of where unit 13 is... it's not upstairs!
Very nice room, staff very helpful and friendly, loved the breakfast - very filling. Plenty of parking, hotel is about 2 ks away from the city, not far from the Salamanca Markets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by Grant Melville, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thanks for the great review - we're thrilled you had a fantastic stay. Not sure what's happened with your room, perhaps a miscommunication, but room 13 is definitely upstairs :) In any case many thanks for the review. Warmest Regards, Grant Melville
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Tired facility, pretty basic.

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
Cons: Fix doors, ensure equipment is working, microwaves to kitchen area. Heating turned on in rooms prior to guest arrival.
Location: Quiet area, small convenience store close by. Otherwise needed a car to access anywhere.
Staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and well trained. Suite was large and clean with daily room service. Breakfast was great, highly recommend getting it included in the price. But facilities were old and tired. Kitchen area not well equipped (no microwave). Room was freezing on arrival and took about 2-3 hours to warm up. Small things were annoying, broken kettle and hairdryer (kettle replaced, but not hairdryer), no microwave to heat food in kitchen, internal doors had broken closure fittings so did not close properly so kept banging in the night, mattress too large for bed so was unstable on the edges. Was an okay hotel, but expected more for what we paid and from previous experiences with Rydges hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by Grant Melville, Hotel Management
Dear JS, Many thanks for the review. I will be sure to follow up with our Maintenance & Housekeeping team who are usually fantastic when it comes to in-house maintenance and repairs. On a positive note it was wonderful to read your commentary about our staff. We have a fantastic team here at Rydges Hobart and all work tirelessly towards exceeding all guests expectations. Warmest Regards, Grant Melville