Ratings based on 1,320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location, small room

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: Since the rooms are small, how about drawers under bed? And how about more free wifi, this is the 2010's!
Location: Great location - 5 minute walk to Salamanca and less than 10 to Elizabeth St. Pier, where many restaurants, nightlife, and tours are
I was very happy with the location of the hotel, it was a 5 minute walk to Salamanca and less than 10 minutes to Elizabeth Street Pier. The room was clean but very small, making it hard to spread out, put away all your clothes, etc. and I was traveling solo. Also, the free wifi lasted about an hour and there wasn't even free wifi in the lobby, and to pay it was $9.95 for 24 hours, nothing less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel right in the center of Hobart

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, quiet room, position right in the center and very accessible, free WIFI
Cons: Add a microwave oven in the rooms!
Location: Close by to the Salamanca square and market and the waterfront. It's also on the main road that drives to Mt Wellington.
I stayed three nights in this hotel on the 7th floor. Really no problem: it's calm, the room and the bathroom are not very big but sufficient, the hotel is very well situated in the center of Hobart, 10min walking distance to the Salamanca square. The staff is friendly and helpful.The WIFI is included in the price. I didn't try the breakfast. Only drawback: the parking fee which is a bit high. Note that it's free to park in the street next to the hotel over the week-end and during the night (between 06pm and 7:30 am). Depending on your needs, you may therefore not need the hotel parking at all!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

good central location

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast menu non exixtant and lack of waiting staff. Disinterested maitre d on our visit.
Location: easy walk to shops , harbour and other attractions
we booked well in advance, no mention of only one lift in operation and room keys would not work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice and clean

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Ironing board is past its use by date. Anything ironed in it will get the mark of the metal from the board.
Location: Location is handy to work to shops, cafes, market.
Hotel is clean. Staff were very friendly. However, there is only one lift operational which is not mentioned anywhere when you book. You have to wait a while for the lift to arrive. Fire stairs can be used an alternative. Wifi is only 100mb free and then fees apply. Room was on the 3rd floor and closer to the intersection of Harrington & Macquarie streets. Late at night the pedestrian crossing sound gets quite loud. Had to sleep with the radio going all night to block out the noise of the pedestrian light changing every couple of minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location but wifi is only limited to 100mb.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Free unlimited wifi please and the lift upgrading!! One lift to service so many people... Waiting time is long sometimes
Location: Shopping at Salamanca market in Saturday and the pier Walking distance to shopping area e.g.elizabeth st mall Accessible to many eating places
Generally good location to shopping, key landmarks and Salamanca market. Room is equipped with microwave,fridge, mini pantry and the view is good too especially on the high floors. Only thing is that the Internet is limited to 100mb and it runs out really fast. There after you need to pay for unlimited use.it would be good if the hotel can provide unlimited wifi just like most hotels do. Why need to pay extra if not just include it in the hotel rates. Need to get out of hotel to places that offer free wifi just to use the Internet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobart

Very Overpriced

Posted Dec 31, 2015
There were three of us cramped in a very small room Bathroom was smallest I had seen in accomodation Extremely overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: Great friendly staff, clean rooms
Cons: Some guests can be a bit noisey
Location: Salamanca markets, wharf, tours, eating
Walking distance to town Salamanca markets, wharf, eating and dining, great staff, clean rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

travel lodge

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom area suffering from water damage perhaps
Location: Close to waterfront area Salamanca area walking distance to main shopping area, lovely teddy bear shop
Great location, handy to Salamanca area, lots of different food outlets, walking distance to waterfront and hire car outlets, friendly staff, clean rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Service was average, understand the hotel was busy that weekend, but service was careless. After it took us approx. 40 min to check in and finally get to our room due to lift not working, we got the keys from existing guests, open the room and there was luggage and personal belongings from other guests - otherwise location is good and bed was comfortable (which is probably all you need).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Room was small but had everything that we needed in the tiny space, it worked quite well. Staff were friendly, morning breakfast was average.