Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magic

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The staff was great. the suite was amazing. the wild game viewing was phenomenal. It is hard to look imagine a better African Safari experience anywhere regardless of cost. This was everything we dreamed it might be and more.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Great base for Northern Kruger

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very good , friendly , food good and varied . Trackers and guides on safrai game drives excellent. They founf lions lepards and even achettah in the most remote places .all credit to them
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Friendly staff, beautiful hotel

Posted May 20, 2016
In Pondoro the staff makes you feel at home. They are soo friendly and helpful. The owners are there too and make sure your stay is perfect. The food is delicious and they always present it very creatively. The rooms are very pretty. Our ranger and tracker were excellent at finding all the animals. We saw lions and leopards 3 days in a row, you really get very close to the animals. We save the big 5 many times. I would definitely recommend this hotel. They really go out of their way to make you happy. One night they organized a surprise candlelight dinner at the river bank which was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Sydney, Australia.

Best week of travel in my life. Simply superb.

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Where do I start...! Best week of travel in my life... Everything about this place is exceptional. Right in the heart of the Balule private game reserve on the banks of the Olifants river nestled amongst the trees. I was in the Buffalo suite, right up the end, and it was simply amazing to say the least, huge and beautifully appointed. All the staff, Janni, Tania, Lillian and all the other staff are superb. They really make you feel at home. Liza and Robbie where only there a few nights of my stay as they where off collecting yet another well deserved hotel award. Rul and Andres are a top notch Tracker / Ranger combo and pull out all the stops to get you up close and personal to all the animals and are so knowledgable about all the wildlife and nature in the area, and do it with a cheeky sense of humor. They really made the whole experience special. The food is top notch, dining room staff are great and the dining deck is superb, just watch your muffins at breakfast as the Vervet monkeys love them if you leave them unattended. We got surprised on two of the nights by amazing dinner set up down by the river which blew me away. They really know how to make the experience special. Great wine and beer list too. If I could rate it more than 5/5 I would. Can't wait to come back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.

Couldn't wish for better...

Posted Oct 22, 2015
From the first contact from our transport from airport, to our sad goodbye, this was an unforgettable experience. Perfect location on the Oliphant River, where we could watch elephants from our chalet (and restaurant). Game drives were fun, interesting and a highlight of our whole trip to S.A. This lodge provides it all - friendly, professional service, comfort, great food, and best of all the opportunity to see and experience magnificent wildlife.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We can't stop talking about pondoro!

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Exceeded every expectation we had - they were already high. Personal touches mixed with impeccable service, beautiful rooms and an overall excellent safari experience. I have stayed in other lodges and can say nothing comes close to Pondoro.
5 out of 5
by Leah from Zürich, Switzerland

Perfect! Amazing experience!

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic place! The owners and staff go over and above to ensure you are taken care of from the moment you arrive. Eric and Ramson were our ranger/tracker team for the game drives and we couldn't have asked for better. They were so nice and really concentrated on ensuring we saw all that we could. The early mornings are rough but what you see when you are out makes it all worth it. We booked the suite and highly recommend the extra money for your stay. Huge room with a large balcony looking over the river. You will need to be escorted to and from the main lodge but this is due to the fact that they keep the area free for the animals to get to the river. Better for the animals and better for your viewing. We were able to spend the afternoons watching elephants, impalas, etc just outside our room. Unbelievable experience. The chalets are smaller and within the fenced grounds of the hotel so no escorts needed but the privacy of the suites are well worth it! Should also note the food - Delicious!!! You will not go hungry! Great staff, beautiful grounds - We didn't want to leave!
5 out of 5
by Sandra from Canada

Absolutely perfect lodge!!

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
The Pondoro Lodge was perfect! Great service, great rooms, delicious food! I'm usually very picky with hotels and I absolutely loved this one! The game rides are also great. Highly recommend it. Don't bother going anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Incredible Safari Experience

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Suites, Safari, Food, Staff
Cons: While there is in reality nothing really missing a few points towards perfection maybe - the gym and pool could use some upgrading.
We spend 4 days beginning of January here. The headline says it all - overall an incredible lodge that adds to a great location if you are looking for a safari experience that is both more safari than zoo and at the same time a oasis of tranquillity when you are not out "hunting" wild animals with your camera. The staff is extraordinary attentive and is 24/7 busy trying to attend to every guest's needs. This includes your drivers and trackers who even in rainy conditions never let up to find those precious yet more often than not well hidden animals for you. It was a truly safari, not zoo like experience. The suites (we stayed in the Buffalo suite) are fantastic and definitely worth to upgrade to. With your own room and patio you can sit in you outside hot-top while watching nearby elephants coming to the river for their own bathing time. At this point a big thank you to everyone at Petrolo, from drivers to cooks for at this point for making our vacation an unforgettable memory.