Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Wotif
good room condition and really tidy. viewing from the room was awesome. shower's water pressure was appropriate. had a really good time there Thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Wotif
Great view, great location. Clean new rooms. Bad TV reception. loved the heated tiles in the bathroom
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kaikoura

hotel close to beach but older facilities wanting

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: location was the only reason we chose it.
Cons: THE SHOWER in room 26
Location: All great
Hotel check in was great - was a bit disappointed that the older rooms were really tiny and towel rail was falling off the wall - needed repairing. Shower was abysmal with just a trickle of water. Staff were really helpful on our arrival and departure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if you are in the new wing

Posted Jun 6, 2016
I was in a standard room which was above the bar and my stay was a Friday night, so it was rowdy. The heater was so noisy I couldn't use it overnight even though the room was cold. The bathroom was tiny, had a hand-basin which was not full size, and had mould. I can't recommend a standard room at this hotel. I was unable to change to a higher grade room in the new wing as the hotel was full. Not an enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was more like a motel than a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Right on the Sea

Posted May 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly.
Cons: The bathroom was tiny. Only room enough for one person at a time. The hand basin could only fit one hand at a time.
Location: Right on the sea, bars and cafes right outside the door, supermarket across the road.
A pleasant enough overnight stay on the way down the West Coast. Clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Wayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: location is so central in Hokitika and nice to be by the beach and have a in house restaurant for breakfast or dinner. break fast was nice selection.
Cons: The rooms a very dated for the prices being charge......... they look budget and worn a little on furniture but the rooms and hallways has new carpet
Location: Fully central to all restaurants and bars and cafes........nice being right by the beach.
I had one serving wait staff at breakfast who left me waiting further to finish her conversation with the chef (she said) that was after I had to go poke my head in the door of the kitchen as I had been waiting for 4-5 minutes to see someone to be seated for breakfast.....when the girl/ lady came out the phone rang so she answered that before attending to me ??? go figure . I was on a 3 day work stay but only had this experience once on the breaskfasts I did have.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jaded and faded. Hotel had seen better days

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was on the beach. Comfortable bed
Cons: It needs updating
Location: Location good as on the main street and facing beach. West Coast Wine Company right across the street - drink their wine and byo food - brilliant
We were in Driftwood Wing and perhaps my comments would have been different if we had stayed in Ocean View wing which was newer. Our Room had a tired look to it. Curtains and bed cover not modern. Room had been divided to provide ensuite but the bathroom was tiny and the sink miniature. Shower needed updating. Food at breakfast was cold so that was disappointing too. Carpet in restaurant was worn