Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So lovely!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
It was a last minute change for us to stay here but what a fantastic experience! Slightly on the exy side but it's definitely worth it, they do make sure it is a premium product.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Paradise

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The location and the beautifully appointed room.
Cons: No improvements as far as the guest facilities go, they are sensational. Again only the ability to dine in was missing, but local hotel was fine.
Location: Could not as I arrived late and left unfortunately very early the next morning.
Beautiful location with panoramic views and a wonderful sense of serenity. The rooms are beautifully appointed and cannot be faulted along with the guest open area and balconies. Missing only the ability for dinning at night, but wonderful local hotel down the road wit great food and a sense of welcome from the locals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted Jul 2, 2016
What a great find. Helen the owner made us feel very much at home ....and Disa the spaniel is gorgeous.
5 out of 5
by Robyn from Auckland

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth from USA

$395 was too pricey

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
When we drove up, I was thinking "oh no" because of the $395 price. Another couple who we met there had the same reaction. The photo of the lodge is taken from the back which has a lovely view. Our room was very nice, pillows were rock hard tho', thankfully I had my own pillow. We had just left a B&B where the hosts went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The owner of Rimu was cordial and helpful, but had the feeling it was more business for her than enjoyment. Felt it was too pricey for the experience, had the same or much better rooms in NZ for much less.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016
Thank you Elizabeth for your review. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy your brief stay with us. I did not meet you when you both arrived as you decided to sit in the car while I checked Jim in and chatted with him for a few minutes and showed him all our facilities and the room. You then went directly to your room and I did not meet you until the following morning at breakfast where there was no time to chat as I was cooking breakfast for 8 people, so I do apologise. The front of the lodge has the expansive views, but yes, you do drive into the lodge directly from the road. All our pillows on the bed are feather/down pillows and there are also anti-allergy pillows in the wardrobe for your use as well. I trust you both enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand, and once again it is a shame you did not enjoy your time with us here at Rimu Lodge.
5 out of 5
by Brendan from Saratoga Springs, New York

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is outstanding. Great B&B. Owners are charmimg, helpful folks. This was a great place for us to stay on our way North to North Island as a halfway point to break up a long drive. Ice machine was hard to get at after 11pm, but it didn't change the fact, the property is outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very well presented and faultless.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Very comfortable and clean accommodation with welcoming host. Excellent views in peaceful out of town location. Wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thank you

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed one night and were very comfortable. We had a wonderful view from our bedroom. Nice to hear birdsong in the morning. Our breakfast was ample and delicious.
5 out of 5
by Linda J from CA

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Helen was great, she gave us lots of information on where to eat and what to see. Great breakfast, great view and a nice large fire in the fireplace when we arrived. Very special for a cold rainy day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Helen was the perfect host! We had a wonderful time. Thanks for your hospitality and care. We enjoyed your company and lodge.