Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Lawn, Il.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Great location. Lot's of things to do.
The room had a fireplaces, which was very nice. The room was very clean. The man at the desk was nice. There was an employee who watched over us the whole time we are breakfast. He made us very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
My husband and I come to Saugatuck a few times a year and have stayed at The Best Western hotel several times. The staff is very friendly, courteous and efficient. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. There are quite a variety of breakfast options as well. We would recommend this lovely facility to anyone! Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southeast Michigan

Clean room. Nice staff.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: It had a room to work out in.
Cons: The room had a fain odor of mold.
Location: It was centrally located to a quaint downtown area with great shops, restaurants and the water.
Room was clean. Jacuzzi tub. We like that there was a small refrigerator and microwave.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The hotel is very outdated and over priced. When we arrived were given keys in envelopes that had been used by many guests. We had to change rooms because there were bodily fluids all over the comforter on our bed. The comforter was brown, so we were able to see it very easily in multiple spots. In the second bed there was popcorn all over the sheets making it seem as if the sheets had not been changed. The hotel staff apologized and moved us to a different room where the caked in dust. At check out staff apologized for the rooms condition but never offered anything more than apology. The hotel was disgusting I wold never stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone. The reason we stayed here was because of the best western name which proved to be a major disappointment. Also the reviews we read were not terrible but out experience was completely different.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farmington, Mi

Overpriced but not terrible

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The convenience of being close to town and the complimentary breakfast. Very good!
Cons: It was dank and dusty..stale.
Location: We had a very pleasant morning in Douglas. Saugatuck is very nice.. Don't miss the Bloody Mary bar at Pumpernickles! :)
Overall, it was okay. The staff was very nice, the beds were comfortable and we had a quiet and comfortable stay. We stripped the beds... No signs of unwanted visitors. However, there was a heavy coating of dust on every surface including the coffee maker. The coffee itself was really old and stale and the air was stuffy. This hotel/ motel is old and dated and in need of a good freshening up but a good cleaning would be a good start. The bathroom was clean except for the dust on all the baseboards. There was a happy ending as the complimentary breakfast was very good with a nice variety of yogurts, fruit, breads ,waffles , cereals and home cooked foods and delicious coffee . The lack of an elevator wasn't an issue for us but would have been for an elderly or physically challenged person. Overpriced indeed as we didn't get any kind of a deal during fall color season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Enjoyed my stay. Loved the jacuzzi! Easy to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Had a bed and breakfast feel with a hotel flair

Posted Oct 11, 2016
While this is just your average Best Western Hotel, what made it extra special was the warmth and kindness of the people at the desk. The breakfast was more than we expected. It was very good. I would highly recommend this Best Western.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good value

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Good location. Close to town. Reasonable price. Typical chain hotel not charming or romantic just adequate.
Cons: Pillows were too fat and lumpy. Heater is noisy but typical for most hotels.
Location: Close to most activities in nearby Saugatuck
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Good hotel, fairly close to town. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I feel it was a bit pricey for one night stay, especially since it was away from town. They did offer a continental breakfast and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was great! near everything

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: That it was clean
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: When into the Saugatuck area for food and shopping, and the beach
weekend getaway, the hotel was clean, the desk clerk was professional and nice!