Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Friendly!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Clean Hotel. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

spiffy new hotel with functional problems

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: New, clean.
Cons: WIFI.
Location: cute town
It's a very spiff, new property. Pushes the green/LEED thing pretty strong. BUT, staff was adequate at best, restaurant should only be a last resort if you can't stand the thought of walking two blocks to "downtown," where there are lots of nice eats. Worse problems: terrible WIFI service, and terrible connection problems. Front desk telling us it was maybe the fault of my laptop was NOT appreciated. Lightbulbs out in room, also not awesome.
4 out of 5
by Per

Hotel Good, The Bar not so much.

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel and receptionist are very good. Staff on the Bar not at all attentive. If you want to get served you need to get up from your seat and ask for service otherwise you may find yourself sitting there empty handed for the next 20-30 min.
5 out of 5
by Kyle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cheryl

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
We were in town visiting Hope College. The hotel was awesome. Super modern and clean. There is a great little bar/restaurant with live music on Thursday night. We enjoyed our stay very much!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Petoskey, Michigan

Not What It Used to Be

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff is excellent. Very courteous.
Cons: Acoustics in the hallway are awful. You hear every person coming down the hallway. Loud guests could be heard coming down the hallway after midnight
Location: Location is very good for access to downtown Holland.
I've stayed at the CityFlatsHotel in Holland before and was quite impressed. On that earlier visit, I had given 5 stars, but on this occasion I had reasons for concern. Number one is the closing of the rooftop restaurant. We went to the top floor and were astounded to see a vast, empty space. When I asked what happened, they told us it had closed suddenly with no explanation from management. What a shame. It had a stellar view and the food was excellent too. We were told the lobby bar served the same food, which we discovered to not be the case. We had a greasy pizza and my spinach salad was awful, lacking dressing and topped with weird almonds. Furthermore, the acoustics in the hallways mean you hear everyone who comes down the hall, which interrupted our sleep. I will say, however, that the staff are all extremely friendly and very efficient. The bartender on duty on Saturday was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel - great location

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Room size and room amenities
Cons: Add tubs! Access to a pool would be great for families.
Location: Downtown holland shopping
We stayed over the holidays and during a snowstorm - the staff did a great job with room service just before the kitchen closed and even ran a menu up to the room in minutes when we discovered the most recent one wasn't tin the room. My kid loved the hotel even though there was no pool - the TV lounge was a great replacement. The beds were comfortable, and the room huge. The only down side - no tub, if you're into that. Highly recommended anyway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Holland, MI

The hotel had very nice modern amenities

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location of the hotel and the updated amenities
Cons: I cant think of anything that should be improved
Location: There were several restaurants and bars in the area as well as other tourist-related options
Our stay at the hotel went very smoothly and the staff members we encountered were excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor MI

Overall Good Experience

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean room and all activities I wanted to do over the weekend were nearby.
Cons: DINING!
Location: Great shopping, terrific campus nearby, excellent restaurants/pubs and nature area nearby.
This is my second time staying at City Flats. While I enjoy the "organic" look and feel of the rooms, our room this time seemed a bit "cold". The "no door" shower caused some water to run onto the bathroom tiles outside of the shower. I would love to see an upgrade in the dining experience as all that is offered currently is breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Wonderful!! Room was spacious and super clean! The bed was soooo comfortable!! Perfect location for walking downtown to shop and eat! Can't wait to come back