Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Nov 2, 2015
We had a great stay. We are not typically the B&B type but The Maplewood may have turned us. The staff was fantastic, breakfasts were good, and the rooms were really neat and cozy. Best of all, the location was ideal for enjoying Saugatuck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rebecca from Riverview

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two nights at the Maplewood Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a little unique because it's a combo hotel/B&B. The location is perfect as it's within walking distance of everything. This was our first visit to Saugatuck and we loved it. We'll be back and we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Great location, lots of charm

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely old world charm with bags of character. Reception staff very welcoming and friendly. Location is fantastic with shops all on the doorstep whilst still remaining quiet and relaxing. Only downside was the size of bathroom and shower cubicle however it would t stop us returning. Breakfast didn't start till 9am which seemed a little late for midweek but all very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Mean staff, pool small and closed.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We arrived in late June to find they hadn’t even opened the pool yet. We had to beg the staff to refund our money so we could go someplace else. The lady stated that they are not in the “pool business”, they are in the “room renting business”!!! Very rude. The room was OK. Pretty small. Either way, glad we didn’t stay even if the pool was open. The pool area is TINY. Only 2 lounge chairs. I would not recommend this place. We ended up staying at the Ship and Shore instead, much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FRANCIS from San Antonio

B & B Bliss

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
Maple wood was wonderful. Located within walking distance to everything in Saugatuck and just the friendliest staff we've encountered in Michigan. The rooms were nicely decorated and all had private bathrooms. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with a combination of a hot specialty dish plus a buffet of continental items. The breakfast room was lovely overlooking a garden and playground. We even stayed an extra night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Location: Saugatuck is a great small "artsy" town on the river. Lots to do in a small area.
This is a lovely B&B with a friendly, accommodating staff and an absolutely perfect location in Saugatuck. Walk a short block past the park and you're in the shopping district. Walk a block the other direction and you're at the Kalamazoo River. Breakfasts were very satisfying and served with casual elegance, rooms were comfortable, light and airy. A few "quirky" characteristics (that one would expect given the age of the establishment - uneven floor in places, etc.) only added to the character and fun. Would love to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessica from Dexter

Great location and staff

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
A charming bed and breakfast in a great location. Breakfast was very good. Mattress was hard and the bathroom door in our room didn't stay closed. Everything else was perfect! Staff is very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Would certainly come again

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful and romantic bed & breakfast, clean room, very forthcoming and friendly staff, nicely decorated, great breakfast. We had a wonderful stay and will certainly come again. Absolutly recommend this place. Room comfort rated 4* because it would have been nice to have it a bit more spacious, condition rated 4* because the room door and bathroom door didn't close and/ or lock tight. Other than that absolutly 5*!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Quaint, walking distance, comfortable
Location: Boutique stores, stroll along river, restaurants
The staff was welcoming. Hotel was quiet and comfortable. Easy walking, breakfast was great!