Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Cute quaint hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The staff was very accommodating. We had to leave early before breakfast service started and they had the coffe maker set up and muffins for us
Cons: Nothing this place is in a perfect spot! Staff very accommodating
Location: Bowdies chophouse
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Charming old hotel; food was good; our room was extremely small.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perrysburg, OH

Perfect location

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location! Extremely pleasant staff. CLEAN rooms.
Cons: Breakfast is from 9-10am. Worked great on a weekend/vacation, but might be a problem for anyone who used it for business. Lot's of choses close by.
Location: Great shopping and eating just minutes away walking. One block from the river with all the rentals and paddleboat rides, etc. there. Marina close.
We were in Saugatuck for a weekend vacation and the location is perfect! We spent almost the entire time walking to great restaurants, shops, the river, everything. The hotel is right on the edge of the downtown district. Close to everything, but just far enough away to be quiet. And there is a city park right next to the hotel, so lot's of small animals to watch like squirrels and ducks, plus a nice playground for kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Catherine L. Simon, Owner, Hotel Management
It was fantastic having you here, Don, and I'm thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate you sharing here, and I hope to see you again soon. Until then!
3 out of 5
by Laura from Whiting

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, just what i expected, but did not expect to get a room for around $200 with the bathroom sink in the bedroom, with draining issues. Bathroom extremely small, hardly room to turn around, where other vacant rooms had much larger bathrooms. Looked at other rooms that were vacant and there were many others without the sink issue, so why we were given this particular room is mindboggling, if you wish for return visits.
2 out of 5
by Alice

Disappointing

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom & shower curtain were covered with mildrew We had to cut our trip short due to a death & they wouldn't give us a discount. Then we had to leave early before breakfast was due to serve. I had been told they would provide muffins & coffee. They didn't & wouldn't even provide hot water when I asked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gorgeous old hotel in the heart of Saugatuck

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and in the middle of town. The breakfast was served so late I had to go to a near-by coffee shop for breakfast,which makes the rate seem a little too high. It was a lovely room, but I would have appreciated not being sandwiched between the laundry room , the main hallway, and another occupied room ,when there seemed to be other empty ,quieter rooms available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Nov 2, 2015
We had a great stay. We are not typically the B&B type but The Maplewood may have turned us. The staff was fantastic, breakfasts were good, and the rooms were really neat and cozy. Best of all, the location was ideal for enjoying Saugatuck.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Catherine L. Simon, Owner, Hotel Management
I'm thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate you sharing here, and I hope to see you again soon. Until then!
4 out of 5
by Rebecca from Riverview

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two nights at the Maplewood Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a little unique because it's a combo hotel/B&B. The location is perfect as it's within walking distance of everything. This was our first visit to Saugatuck and we loved it. We'll be back and we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Karen from Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Great location, lots of charm

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely old world charm with bags of character. Reception staff very welcoming and friendly. Location is fantastic with shops all on the doorstep whilst still remaining quiet and relaxing. Only downside was the size of bathroom and shower cubicle however it would t stop us returning. Breakfast didn't start till 9am which seemed a little late for midweek but all very nice.
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels