Ratings based on 2,468 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

reservation

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: meeting rooms were good
Cons: temperature control - very cold in all meeting rooms
had pair for reservation and when we arrived, they could not accommodate us Moved us to another hotel which was a nice hotel, but inconvenient for my disabled husband and son
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Ok. Not great.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The property is huge, so I would think the quality of the rooms must vary pretty widely. I had basic room on lower (7th) floor with "city" views. View was actually just AC units below. Beach was ok, but very narrow. Only room for a couple chairs between the pool area and the ocean. Resort fee of 30 didn't even include umbrella (extra 20). Basically it felt like a low end all inclusive that wasn't all inclusive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Don't expect anything Expedia promises.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Pools. Cupcakes.
Cons: Stop over promising and under delivering.
If you are an Expedia +gold member, read on... Been saving our Expedia points for a while and had never stayed at a +vip property. We were going to be in town for an event so figured there was no better time to use them. We had stayed at the property 9-years ago when it was not part of the Hilton family. Lots has changed, not necessarily for the better. For three weeks ahead of check-in I attempted to use the Expedia "Message Hotel" function. I sent the same message three times asking about early check-in. Crickets. Called the hotel to ask. Was told I had to call Expedia and have them make the request. What a waste of time. We arrived at 2:30p. Waited in line for a half hour to get to the reception desk. NO +VIP PRIORITY LINE AS ADVERTISED. We were given access to the pool while we waited for the room to be ready at 4p. We were dressed prepared for the possibility. We had reserved a single king, city view room. Our 6th-floor city view consisted of looking squarely at the convention center next door and if we looked down, the roof of the 4th-floor portion which extended past the upper floors. Satellite dishes and air conditioners. NO IN-ROOM BOTTLED WATER AS ADVERTISED. NO BATHROBES AS ADVERTISED. WIFI IS ALREADY "FREE" FOR ALL GUESTS. In other words, just enjoy using your points and getting double the value. Disregard the promised amenities. Just enjoy the awesome pools (and the well-trained attendants there) and the clean, comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central New Jersey

Big prices; Little attention

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: The pool are and the pool is beautiful and it is the Diplomat's best quality.
Cons: SERVICE... SERVICE...SERVICE. Oh yes, quality of amenities and food could be much better.
Location: Have car and the south of Florida is there for you. No Car,not much to do.
Fairly nice looking hotel. Lobby is a bit childish looking. Staff is awful... everywhere... lobby, pool, restaurants, bar, etc. Over the top pricing for very underwhelming service and quality. I've been to some of the very best resorts in many cities. I don't mind paying for it but the return must live up to the cost. The Diplomat does not... at all!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Fl

Fantastic Hotel on the Beach

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The stay at this hotel has been absolutely amazing, staff was great, service was phenomenal, I was able to text my needs to the concierge, beautiful view from the suite, definitely enjoyed my birthday here, I would recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous!

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Beautiful Hotel with Spectacular City as well as Ocean Views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

nice hotel ,close to the beach

Posted Oct 25, 2017
nice for sure i will ve back, i got 50$ credit everu day so i decide to spend them at valet parking , so it is not bad ,very calm hotel i love it , i live my room ,very private w, i had a high floor ( 32) city view and it was very romantic at night , love itttt ,,,for sure i will b back and i hope i can soon 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to get a away from it all

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Location, hotel layout, service, staff and atmosphere all very pleasing.
Cons: Like most resorts in this area, food and drink prices are very high. Only one hotel bar had a happy hour specials.
Location: A short Uber ride to South Beach is inexpensive and great to visit. Hollywood Boardwalk is nice to stroll and listen to bands by the water.
This was our second stay at the Diplomat and we were very pleased with our stay. We were able to upgrade our room for a small additional fee. The staff, location, and pool area were excellent and met most of our needs. We found that the bill at checkout time was a little confusing, but when we asked about it the staff was great at answering questions and making changes as needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully resort on the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Luxury hotel. Standard city view room was reasonable size with comfortable bed and appealing bathroom. Front desk staff pleasant and accommodating. Housekeeping very slow to respond to requests. Note parking and resort fees, which are steep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sarasota

False promises

Posted Oct 17, 2017
When I was booking they said city n ocean view n when I went there it was only city view. They said coffe in the room , n there was no coffee, I called n I went to the front desk they said they would bring it but never did. One thing I hate is false promises. I should’ve stick to Hyde Resort &residences, they always got me right.